State Champs Take Back the Reigns of Pop Punk with ‘Eventually’

The pop punk world is shimmering right now. With Simple Plan and Stand Atlantic dropping their brand new albums next month on May 6th, upstate New York four-piece State Champs are also hot on their heels with the drop of their fourth LP, Kings of the New Age on May 13th. Today though, they’re following up pop punk jam ‘Everybody But You’ with their extravagant new single ‘Eventually‘.

On the new track, frontman Derek DiScanio comes to terms with his own thought process and anxieties, taking back his truth and “the one thing that felt permanent”. Highlighting reverberating energy that peels back the band’s layers, ‘Eventually’ throws us to a style we heard on The Finer Things and what they advanced on Around the World and Back and later perfected on 2018’s Living Proof. 

Now with four bangin’ anthems under their belt, Kings of the New Age is surely going to put State Champs at the top of the pop punk game in 2022. This is honestly going to be the boys’ most groundbreaking chapter yet!

Words by Tamara May @citylightstam

Listen to ‘Eventually’ here
Pre-order Kings of the New Age here!

State Champs – Kings of the New Age tracklisting:

1. Here To Stay
2. Eventually
3. Everybody But You (featuring Ben Barlow)
4. Outta My Head
5. Fake It
6. Half Empty (featuring Chrissy Costanza)
7. Just Sound
8. Act Like That (featuring Mitchell Tenpenny)
9. Where Were You
10. Sundress (featuring Four Year Strong)
11. Some Minds Don’t Change

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Tamara May (1085 Articles)
Wall of Sound's Head of Album Reviews. Weekend Content. Pop Punk Enthusiast.