State Champs Invite Neck Deep’s Ben Barlow on ‘Everybody But You’ + Announce 4th Album

State Champs are taking back the reigns when it comes to the genre this year. To celebrate the boys taking the lead on pop punk in 2022, they’ve dropped an absolute tune, ‘Everybody But You’ and have brought Neck Deep frontman Ben Barlow on for this one.

The track serves as your typical break up anthem, transformed into your new favourite summer jam by the band’s contagious upbeat melodies and hooky chorus. Vocalist Derek DiScanio wears his heart on his sleeve as he flips off at that one person who hurt him (how dare they though?). It’s a moshpit-worthy anthem that sits right at the centre of the genre’s true spirits.

‘Everybody But You’ marks the first official guest feature with Neck Deep frontman Ben Barlow and his verse is simply divine. State Champs and Neck Deep’s friendship go way back as they’ve toured a bunch together, including Australia in 2014. For hardcore pop punk fans, you may hear a name drop to the infamous Neck Deep track ‘A Part Of Me’ by Ben himself! But wait, there’s more. Watch the video below and you’ll also spot Tyler Posey joining in on the festivities as the pizza delivery guy.

The band premiered ‘Everybody But You’ overnight to lucky fans in the Champs Fam, where the boys also revealed details of their fourth album, Kings of the New Age which willll drop on May 13th via Pure Noise Records. You wanted the scoop? You got it right here.

This is the band’s most feature-prominent record yet. Alongside Ben Barlow, State Champs have also grabbed Against the Current’s Chrissy Costanza, US pop/country artist Mitchell Tenpenny and… their Pure Noise labelmates, Four Year fuckin’ Strong! Oh boy.

This incredibly bangin’ song continues the party from previous singles ‘Just Sound’ and ‘Outta My Head’ which cement the notion that Kings of the New Age is their most confident era yet.

Words by Tamara May @citylightstam

Listen to ‘Everybody But You’ (featuring Ben Barlow) here
Pre-order Kings of the New Age live soon!

State Champs – Kings of the New Age tracklisting:

1. Here To Stay
2. Eventually
3. Everybody But You (featuring Ben Barlow)
4. Outta My Head
5. Fake It
6. Half Empty (featuring Chrissy Costanza)
7. Just Sound
8. Act Like That (featuring Mitchell Tenpenny)
9. Where Were You
10. Sundress (featuring Four Year Strong)
11. Some Minds Don’t Change

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Tamara May (1085 Articles)
Wall of Sound's Head of Album Reviews. Weekend Content. Pop Punk Enthusiast.