Simple Plan Unveil LP Opening Track, ‘Wake Me Up (When This Nightmare’s Over)’

They announced their brand new LP Harder Than It Looks just this month alongside the celebratory ‘Congratulations‘, and today Canadian pop punk legends Simple Plan have revealed the album’s opening track.

Titled ‘Wake Me Up (When This Nightmare’s Over)’, the song will surely prick up the ears of longtime fans of the band over their twenty-year tenure. Storming in with a radiant, upbeat pop punky rhythm, the song instils that inner strength and confidence in ourselves that we’ve all been searching for in dark times. As we all come out the other side of this world pandemic, ‘Wake Me Up (When This Nightmare’s Over)’ very much mirrors reality and our emotions towards the world.

The band have selected this song to somewhat replicate the devastating scenes happening all over Ukraine this year, teaming up with a plethora of Ukrainian actors and director Jensen Noen to encapsulate the visual. Simple Plan share:

“When we saw the first images from the war in Ukraine, we felt so heartbroken and powerless. The impact on young children and families felt especially devastating and made us want to do something to help. The idea to do this video was sparked by discussions with our good friend and director Jensen Noen. We could feel just how important and personal the events in Ukraine were for him and from there, the concept for the video emerged.

It was very special to see all these talented Ukrainian actors, actresses, and crew members come together for this cause and create such a moving and emotional music video. We always believed in the power of music and we hope this video can have a positive impact and raise as much money as possible for the people of Ukraine.” 

Now with four tracks released, Harder Than It Looks sounds like the band has been reigning in feelings that sit strongly with the fans. ‘Wake Me Up’ celebrates inner strength and adversity as well as Simple Plan’s previous singleRuin My Life did, which also featured Sum 41 vocalist Deryck Whibley.

Stay tuned when the rest of the album unfolds on May 6!

Words by Tamara May @citylightstam

Pre-order Harder Than It Looks here

Simple Plan – Harder Than It Looks tracklisting:

1. Wake Me Up (When This Nightmare’s Over)
2. Ruin My Life (feat. Deryck Whibley)
3. The Antidote
4. Million Pictures Of You
5. Anxiety
6. Congratulations
7. Iconic
8. Best Day of My Life
9. Slow Motion
10. Two

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Tamara May (1085 Articles)
Wall of Sound's Head of Album Reviews. Weekend Content. Pop Punk Enthusiast.