Northlane Takes On Industrial-Djent Fusion With ‘Carbonized’

Northlane - Carbonized review, photo by Kane Hibberd

Northlane‘s sixth album Obsidian is so close (April 22, 2022) and so far the Aussie metalcore Gods have unveiled a number of singles for us, including ‘Plenty‘, ‘Echo Chamber‘ and ‘Clockwork‘ – leaving us to believe there’s going to be an experimental mixture of sounds and textures on the record.

A fourth release has now been premiered for you to get your fingertips on – it’s called ‘Carbonized‘. Northlane have been rather innovative promoting it in the past week, allowing fans to reply to their Instagram story for some automated bot messaging, resulting in a single teaser. Beyond, that, they’ve also shared Studio Diary #3 which you can check out below:

On ‘Carbonized‘ frontman Marcus Bridge shares:

“We need to start holding predators and abusers accountable for the awful things they have done. Time and time again, the phrase ‘separate the artist from the art’ is used to discount and deflect the damage these people (often men in a position of power) have inflicted on those around them. Whether it’s manipulating minors or putting a hit out on your wife, it shocks me that fans will forget all about it because their latest track is really heavy. Stand with the victims, not the artists continuing their careers as if nothing ever happened. This song is a reminder.”

Carbonized‘ incorporates the synth-infused elements we’ve been hearing on some of the other singles. Bridge channels a dark vocal style in this one and dances on the edge of some truly djent-packed riffs. Traversing to a starkly different clean chorus, Bridge perpetuates the ultimate embodiment of what not just a metalcore vocalist, but Northlane‘s vocalist – a very particular entity. With epic instrumental features and industrial tones, ‘Carbonized‘ will have you feeling more than ready for Obsidian, out next week.

Northlane are making their big return to the stage at Full Tilt in Melbourne this weekend and also have a massive tour coming up too, with special guests: PliniSleep Token and ALT, hitting all major cities.

Words by Ricky Aarons (@rickysaul90)

Stream Northlane – ‘Carbonized’ below and
Pre-order Obsidian here

Buy tickets for the Northlane Australian Tour 2022 at

Northlane Obsidian tracklisting

Northlane – Obsidian tracklisting:

1. Clarity
2. Clockwork
3. Echo Chamber
4. Carbonized
5. Abomination
6. Plenty
7. Is this a Test?
8. Xen
9. Cypher
10. Nova
11. Inamorata
12. Obsidian
13. Dark Solitaire

About Ricky Aarons (872 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.