Thy Art Is Murder Blast Second Single ‘Keres’ Off Godlike

Thy Art Is Murder 2023

In a couple of months, Australia’s biggest deathcore band will release their sixth studio album. Thy Art Is Murder also just dropped a sophomore split EP with Fit For An Autopsy and Malevolence (replacing Acacia Strain) on The Aggression Sessions. We anticipated a bit of new stuff coming after we had a yarn with guitarist Andy Marsh on the Decade of Hate tour in Melbourne (interview on Wall of Sound TV here).

With a little cheeky reference to a new record, Thy Art Is Murder progressed to announce Godlike, out September 15 via their own label Human Warfare. The Nuclear Blast record will include lead-single ‘Join Me In Armageddon‘ and second single out today called ‘Keres‘.

Keres‘ were known as female death-spirits in Greek mythology, and undoubtedly the Sydney-siders are going to make some dark references to the history, especially when Third Eye Visuals are involved in the incredible video. 

The second 2023 single from Thy Art Is Murder has some pace to it. With signature guitar wiggles and grooves, vocalist CJ McMahon casts deeper gutturals than what we’re used to. With Slayer-like guitar squeals and their evolving death metal/deathcore ensemble, Godlike is seeming like a record with big potential.

Marsh comments:

 “It’s not often we have this level of excitement to present a new single to the world. Keres is a metal anthem filled with grinding verses and stomping choruses, stripping down some of the complexity that may have gotten in the way of previous attempts to deliver a song of this magnitude. The Keres was an evil sprite in ancient Greek mythology that would feed on the dead, but could not participate in acts of violence. We think this behaviour is as relevant in the arena of news and politics as it was on those ancient battlefields.”

Words by Ricky Aarons (@rickysaul90)

Stream ‘Keres‘ here

Pre-order/save Godlike here

Thy Art Is Murder Join Me In Armageddon

Thy Art Is Murder – Godlike tracklisting

1. Destroyer Of Dreams
2. Blood Throne
3. Join Me In Armageddon
4. Keres
5. Everything Unwanted
6. Lesson In Pain
7. Godlike
8. Corrosion
9. Anathema
10. Bermuda

About Ricky Aarons (866 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.