Currents Surface Crushing New Single ‘So Alone’

Currents 2023

The potential metalcore album of the year is on the way people, and if you clicked to read this, you probably have similar ideas. Connecticut sweethearts Currents are gearing up for new record The Death We Seek, out May 5, 2023 via SharpTone Records.

So far, the five-piece breakdown experts have shared us a few previews, including ‘Vengeance‘, title track ‘The Death We Seek‘ and also ‘Remember Me‘. The latter of the trio was released shortly after the band shared the awful news of guitarist Ryan Castaldi‘s cancer diagnosis – we hope he’s doing great and thinking of him and the band during this time.

Following 2020 album The Way It Ends, this forthcoming edition is really shaping up, and today Currents have gifted us a fourth single to suss out called ‘So Alone‘, and it might just be the heaviest one yet. As you click Play, the drums and riffs are in supersonic mode, where you can just imagine double-hatting Shadow of Intent guitarist Chris Wiseman having the best time alongside Castaldi. Vocalist Brian Willie purges some of his biggest growls on this one, whilst toeing the line with delightful cleans. ‘So Alone‘ leaves you feeling like this could be one of their best singles so far.

On the single, Willie comments:

“‘So Alone’ explores isolation, whether self-induced or through outside factors. It expresses the pain of not being able to relate to those we love or to even be in their presence, and bemoans that separation in whatever form it takes. It also touches on the cyclical nature of our ups and downs, in the sense that we can feel we’ve made the same choices that lead us to the same places over and over again, despite how much we wish to have a different outcome.”

Words by Ricky Aarons (@rickysaul90)

Stream ‘So Alone‘ here

Pre-save/pre-order The Death We Seek here

Currents Remember Me

Currents – The Death We Seek tracklisting

1. The Death We Seek
2. Living in Tragedy
3. Unfamiliar
4. So Alone
5. Over and Over
6. Beyond This Road
7. Vengeance
8. Gone Astray
9. Remember Me
10. Guide Us Home

About Ricky Aarons (822 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.