ICYMI – Week Ending 26th July

Unfortunately this passing week saw the tragic death of Justin Lowe, guitarist and founding member of U.S metalcore band, After the Burial. The body of the 32-year-old was discovered by a hiker on Tuesday near the St. Croix River in Minnesota. Lowe had suddenly quit the group last month in a bizarre paranoid Facebook post, with the band following up with a statement, clearly concerned for Lowe’s well being;

“Mental illness is a very serious matter, and we are treating it as such. If you or anyone you know may be suffering from a mental illness, the time to find help is now.”

Our thoughts are with all the After the Burial family, friends and fans.

In other news from around the globe, Arkansas rockers Evanescence have been brought to life announcing they are returning to the touring circuit with three intimate shows booked in the U.S. Amy Lee and the band are also confirmed to appear on the Japan version of Ozzfest. Hopefully the band can get out to Australia again following their impressive run of shows in 2012.
In some more good news, guitarist Dave “Brownsound” Baksh formerly of Sum 41 is apparently rejoining the band. Baksh joined the band on stage at the Alternative Press Music Awards playing some of the band’s classic hits, including ‘In Too Deep’ and ‘Fat Lip’, which you can watch below. Baksh’s posting on his Instagram before deleting; “Yes yes y’all I’m back. Sum 41 thanks to all of the crew, band and fans for making me feel so welcome.”

It was relatively quiet on the touring front this week bar the awesome news that UK progressive act TesseracT will return down under in October, with Australian fans becoming the first in the world to experience songs performed live from the bands brand new album Polaris which will be released the month prior on September 18. Australia’s own Caligula’s Horse will support!
tess tour
We’ve got a bunch of music videos for you to check out this week, starting with Buckcherry’s latest, ‘The Madness’. Buckcherry’s forthcoming album Rock ’n’ Roll is out August 21, 2015.

Storming toward 2 million views in just a few days on YouTube, Yorkshire lads, Bring Me The Horizon premiered their new video, ‘Throne’ ealier in the week. New album, That’s The Spirit will be out 11th September, and by the sounds of this, it will be nothing short of epic.

Canadian death metal band, Kataklysm are off the hook this week, following up on last week’s music video, ‘The World is a Dying Insect’, with a further, not one, not two, not three but four music videos! That has to be some kind of record! We’ve posted ‘The Black Sheep’ below, but for the whole ensemble, head to Nuclear Blast’s YouTube and check it out!

All That Remains have released the radio friendly, ‘For You’ from their album The Order Of Things. Personally, they lost me in their last few albums but check it out for yourselves;

To the news of album releases and of course none is bigger this week than Bring Me The Horizon. That’s the Spirit will be the title of the upcoming fifth studio album and it will be released on 11 September 2015. The album notably marks a significant shift away from the group’s metalcore  roots in favour of more alternative and electronic sound.

Ontario, Candian legends, Anvil have turned their eyes to fundraising connecting with website, Pledgemusic, to raise funds to record the band’s 16th studio album. You can make a pledge here….the band stating on the website, “We are proud to announce to our fans that they can keep in personal touch with the band and be directly involved in the process of creating the next Anvil album. This will be the first time that we’ve used a crowd-funding approach and we are fully confident in our fans to really pitch in and help.”

New Jersey stoners, Monster Magnet are still loving the magic mushrooms by the sounds of it as they again turn to a re-imagining or what they describe, making an “alternative listening experience”, as they announce the release of Cobras And Fire: The Mastermind Redux. Front man Dave Wyndorf posting on Facebook, “With Cobras And Fire I wanted to present these songs in a much stranger and dirtier atmosphere. Less “classic rock” and more…well, I’d guess I’d call it a deranged fusion of Garage-Psych, Fuzz Punk and Movie Soundtrack music.”

Cobras and Fire (The Mastermind Redux) will be released on Napalm Records October 9th. The album is available for pre-order via the Napalm Records Webstore http://shop.napalmrecords.com/monstermagnet

Washington metal band, Queensrÿche,will release its new album, Condition Hüman, on October 2. The album was recorded in part at at Uberbeatz Studio in Washington with producer Chris “Zeuss” Harris, who has previously worked with Rob Zombie, Hatebreed and Soulfly.

The Condition Hüman opening track, ‘Arrow Of Time’, can be streamed using the SoundCloud widget below…

bmth - spiritmonster magnet master

Some more streams to check out include another Fear Factory track from the upcoming Genexus album. Check out ‘Dielectric’.

Nile, touring Australia in November have released ‘The Call To Destruction’ taken from What Should Not Be Unearthed, due August 28 via Nuclear Blast….

Japanese electro metalcore maestro’s Crossfaith have released another track from their forthcoming new album, Xeno due 18 September. Featuring Beartooth’s Caleb Shomo the track is entitled, ‘Ghost in the Mirror’. Grab your Physical and Digital Pre Order Bundles : http://www.crossfaith.jp

The lyric video and title track for the new Disturbed album Immortalized has arrived another generic heavy slab. What’s your thoughts on this one?….personally I’m not feeling it.

Leaving the best for last, Teenage Time Killers have released another track from their Greatest Hits Vol. 1, which will be released on July 31 via Rise Records. If you haven’t heard of this band before than wake the fuck up! The long-gestating brainchild of Corrosion Of Conformity founder/drummer/vocalist Reed Mullin, guitarist Mick Murphy (My Ruin, The Birds of Satan, Neanderthal) and producer John “Lou” Lousteau, Teenage Time Killers’ Greatest Hits Vol. 1 is 20 concise seismic shocks created by an all-star line up of punk and metal legends spanning decades. Joining Reed on drums and Mick on guitar on the album’s 20 mostly original tracks and few covers of underground classics (including the Rudimentary Peni deep cut that inspired the project’s title) includes: Jello Biafra, Randy Blythe of Lamb of God, Dave Grohl and Pat Smear of Foo Fighters, Nick Oliveri, Matt Skiba of Alkaline Trio, Corey Taylor of Slipknot and Stone Sour, Tommy Victor of Prong and Danzig, Lee Ving of Fear, Mike “IX” Williams of Eyehategod, Mullin’s Corrosion of Conformity band mates Mike Dean and Woody Weatherman, Karl Agell and many, many more.

Check out Clutch’s, Neil Fallon taking vocal duties on ‘Crowned by the Light’

Until next week….take care, and hit me up on twitter if you want to see something, argue something or befriend my altered soul.
Cheers \m/