Metallica Get Down with TikTok & Release Nostalgic Single ‘If Darkness Had a Son’

Metallica 2023

72 Seasons is coming, people. Metallica‘s eleventh studio album is out on on April 14, 2023 via Blackened Recordings and metalheads have some pretty high hopes for it after hearing the caliber of the two new-age singles we’ve heard so far, notably ‘Lux Æterna‘ and ‘Screaming Suicide‘.

As we enter March, it feels pretty good to say the new Metallica record is out next month, and the band are probably feeling the same way ’cause they’ve just dropped third single ‘If Darkness Had A Son‘. Unlike the preceding two tracks, the biggest heavy metal band in the world have joined Gen Z on TikTok to do some modern teasing.


#duet with @metallica #IfDarknessHadASon out tomorrow. #72seasons #metallica #duetchain

♬ original sound – metallica

If Darkness Had A Son‘ is less thrashier than the aforementioned new tunes but withstands expectations on the technical front. It’s nostalgic in the sense that it takes you back to the Death Magnetic era in a way, with a marching rhythm and high-energy variation from James Hetfield. Spanning nearly seven-minutes, this is the third of three tracks that spells out excitement for 72 Seasons.

Metallica‘s M72 world tour is starting soon where they’ll undoubtedly showcase some of these new tunes, and while they claim to have announced all 2023 dates, we’ve still got some hope that Australia is on their minds based on the rumour mill.

Words by Ricky Aarons (@rickysaul90)

Stream ‘If Darkness Had A Son‘ here

Pre-order 72 Seasons here

Metallica 72 Seasons release date

1. 72 Seasons
2. Shadows Follow
3. Screaming Suicide
4. Sleepwalk My Life Away
5. You Must Burn!
6. Lux Æterna
7. Crown Of Barbed Wire
8. Chasing Light
9. If Darkness Had A Son
10. Too Far Gone?
11. Room Of Mirrors

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Ricky Aarons (771 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.