The Devil Wears Prada Get Their Groove on with ‘Time’

the devil wears prada timenew music

The rise of late-noughties metalcore is here thanks to The Devil Wears Prada. On the back of their stupendous Zombie II EP release (our review here), they’re moving forward onto their eighth studio album Color Decay, out September 16th via Solid State Records. So far, TDWP have shared with us three singles from the forthcoming record -‘Watchtower‘, ‘Sacrifice‘ and ‘Salt‘.

A fourth tune has now surfaced titled ‘Time‘. Kicking off with some groovy cleans, The Devil Wears Prada sift into their developing textures that are forming much of their new releases nowadays. The track leans into melodies more than their usual and showcases a different side to what this multi-faceted band can offer (and has proven to offer over the years).

On ‘Time‘, The Devil Wears Prada comments:

Our goal for Time was to create an entirely new visual for the band. Something that would fit the combination of aggressive riffs and the pulsing vibes in the song. Working with Chris and Kate again, their use of a dance troupe with amazing choreography really helps emphasize the chaotic feelings of speeding up and slowing down that the lyrics spell.

Intersecting the tour and new single, they’ve also said:

“Time is the perfect song to drop right at the start of our Zombie Tour — connecting the aggressive chaos of both EPs with the haunting melody running throughout Color Decay. As a band, we have never felt stronger about where we’ve come from and where we are going!”

Color Decay is shaping up to be extremely diverse and capture a modern essence of a metalcore band that’s coming off the back of a high-pressure EP sequel with a very particular sound.

Words by Ricky Aarons (@rickysaul90)

Stream The Devil Wears Prada – ‘Timehere and
Pre-Order / Pre-Save Color Decay here
Out September 16th via Solid State Records

the devil wears prada - color decay

The Devil Wears Prada – Color Decay tracklisting:

1. The Exposition
2. Salt
3. Watchtower
4. noise
5. Broken
6. Sacrifice
7. Trapped
8. Time
9. Twenty-five.
10. Fire
11. Hallucination
12. Cancer

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Ricky Aarons (771 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.