Ozzy Osbourne Invites Sabbath Guitarist Tony Iommi On Deck for ‘Degradation Rules’

Ozzy Osbourne Patient Number 9

Ozzy Osbourne‘s thirteenth solo studio album Patient Number 9 is all set for September 9 via Sony Music. He opened with the title-track and gave fans a very promising outset for the record, with vocals sounding top-notch. The self-titled lead-single featured guitarist Jeff Beck and now single number two also features a special guitarist. Today, Osbourne has released ‘Degradation Rules‘ featuring the one and only Black Sabbath guitarist Tony Iommi who’s never featured on one of Ozzy’s solo records.

In case you missed it, the next record features a stack of incredible guests, including Zakk Wylde, Eric Clapton, the late Taylor Hawkins and more. With Iommi also jumping in the record, it’s timely for the track getting released as he’s about to play guitar to the world at the opening ceremony of the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham next Thursday, July 28.

When Patient Number 9 was first announced, Osbourne commented on working with Iommi on this track:

“It was really great working with Tony. He’s the riff master. No one can touch him in that respect. I only wish we had these songs for Black Sabbath’s 13 album.”

Following on from Black Sabbath‘s recent golden anniversary of their two seminal records, it’s great to see Osbourne and Iommi back in the studio together. The four-minute track kicks in with Iommi’s low-tuned signature riffs as well as the harmonica taking you all the way back to ‘The Wizard‘ from 1970. With Ozzy singing about asphyxiation and masturbation, your grandma will be reminding you like she reminded your parents – don’t listen to the devil’s music. Add in a few of Ozzy’s hellish laughs and this track gives you everything you’d ever need from the Prince of Darkness.

Look out for the visualiser premier below.

Words by Ricky Aarons (@rickysaul90)

Stream Ozzy Osbourne – ‘Degradation Rules‘ feat. Tony Iommi here and
Pre-save Patient Number 9 here
Out September 9 via Sony Music

Ozzy Osbourne Patient Number 9 tracklisting

Ozzy Osbourne – Patient Number 9 tracklisting

1. Patient Number 9 feat. Jeff Beck
2. Immortal feat. Mike McCready
3. Parasite feat. Zakk Wylde
4. Mr. Darkness feat. Zakk Wylde
5. One of Those Days feat. Eric Clapton
6. A Thousand Shades feat. Jeff Beck
7. No Escape From Now feat. Tony Iommi
8. Nothing Feels Right feat. Zakk Wylde
9. Evil Shuffle feat. Zakk Wylde
10. Degradation Rules feat. Tony Iommi
11. Dead and Gone
12. God Only Knows
13. Darkside Blues

About Ricky Aarons (868 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.