Ozzy Osbourne is Back With Title Track ‘Patient Number 9’ (Feat. Jeff Beck) With New Album

Ozzy Osbourne Patient Number 9

The Prince of Darkness has returned. Ozzy Osbourne has dropped a brand new single today called ‘Patient Number 9‘, featuring one of the greatest guitarists of our time – Jeff Beck. A couple of years has already flown by since one of the greats in heavy metal released LP Ordinary Man, featuring hit single ‘Straight to Hell‘, plus track features with the like of Sir Elton John and Post Malone.

The record was released around the same time he shared his Parkinson’s Disease diagnosis with the world, and also around the same time Black Sabbath celebrated the golden anniversary of Black Sabbath (album) and Paranoid. To learn more, we had a chat with bassist Geezer Butler (read our interview here), who reflected on the fifty years passed.

Well, the legendary Ozzy is back in a big way and is honestly sounding better than ever on his 2022 release. The title and intro of the beastly seven-minute single emits an asylum ambience, which is rather true to form. After an ominous verse, Osbourne changes tempo and when you hear the chorus lyrics “Hiding the pills inside your mouth, swallow them down and spit them out“, the spine-tingling nostalgia from his back catalogue hits you in the face. The riffs are groovy and fit the vocals epically with a mix of his Sabbath roots as well as Beck’s guitars something you’d imagine hearing from the likes of Slash, particularly when the interlude hits.

On the new single, Ozzy says:

“The song is about a mental institution. Having someone like Jeff Beck play on my album is just incredible, a total honour. There’s no other guitar player that plays like him and his solo on Patient Number 9 is just jaw-dropping.”

Update: ‘Patient Number 9′ is a superb return from Ozzy, and the new tune will excite fans to no end, and is also the title of his next album, out September 9 via Sony Music.

The record features a stack of incredible guests, including and not limited to his loyal friend Zakk Wylde, who’s been his guitarist across much of his solo career, as well as the only and only Eric Clapton and even the late Taylor Hawkins. If that’s not enough for you, the name-dropping continues with Chad Smith, Robert Trujillo, Duff McKagan and Chris Chaney.

Words by Ricky Aarons (@rickysaul90)

Stream Ozzy Osbourne – ‘Patient Number 9‘ feat. Jeff Beck here and
Pre-save Patient Number 9 here
Out September 9 via Sony Music

Ozzy Osbourne Patient Number 9 tracklisting

Ozzy OsbournePatient Number 9 tracklisting

1. Patient Number 9 feat. Jeff Beck
2. Immortal feat. Mike McCready
3. Parasite feat. Zakk Wylde
4. Mr. Darkness feat. Zakk Wylde
5. One of Those Days feat. Eric Clapton
6. A Thousand Shades feat. Jeff Beck
7. No Escape From Now feat. Tony Iommi
8. Nothing Feels Right feat. Zakk Wylde
9. Evil Shuffle feat. Zakk Wylde
10. Degradation Rules feat. Tony Iommi
11. Dead and Gone
12. God Only Knows
13. Darkside Blues

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Ricky Aarons (737 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.