Megadeth Enter Suburban Crime Scene With Ice T on ‘Night Stalkers’

Megadeth. Photo: Travis Shinn

September is just around the corner, and thrash fans will know what that means – a new Megadeth album. With Dave Mustaine‘s battle with throat cancer over and touring bassist James LoMenzo on deck at live shows after David Ellefson got booted, the big four veterans are gearing up for The Sick The Dying And The Dead! – their sixteenth record, out September 2nd via Universal Records.

With the exciting announcement, Megadeth shared lead single ‘We’ll Be Back‘ which simply blew minds, three guitar solos and all, with comparisons to Rust in Peace. Now that fans’ blood pressure have stabilised over the past few weeks, they’ve now launched a second single for us to analyse and pick apart with our elitist headphones carefully selected. The new track is called ‘Night Stalkers‘ and features Body Count‘s Ice T, making for a very awesome and unique guest on the record.

Extending nearly seven minutes in length, the second single takes you into a scene of circling helicopters in an suburban city before Mustaine’s guitars kick in unforgivingly – and they relent until the mid-way point where Ice T jumps in with a quick rap that takes you back to the scene where the track all started. After four-minutes it all ceases and symphonic strumming takes over before an idyllic eerie bassline is delivered that lingers before Mustaine and the band kick in again with thrash-chaos.

Listen to the new single at midnight local time and look out for the video premiere below (and it looks like another movie).

Words by Ricky Aarons (@rickysaul90)

Stream Megadeth – ‘Night Stalkers‘ feat. Ice T here and
Pre-Order / pre-save The Sick, The Dying… And The Dead! here
Out September 2nd via Universal Records


Megadeth – The Sick, The Dying… And The Dead! tracklisting 

1. The Sick, the Dying… and the Dead!
2. Life in Hell
3. Night Stalkers (feat. Ice-T)
4. Dogs of Chernobyl
5. Sacrifice
6. Junkie
7. Psychopathy
8. Killing Time
9. Soldier On!
10. Célebutante
11. Mission to Mars
12. We’ll Be Back

About Ricky Aarons (872 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.