Megadeth Unveil 16th Studio Album + Drop Lead Single ‘We’ll Be Back’

Megadeth. Photo: Travis Shinn

Alright, cool your jets metalheads, the album of the year has just been announced overnight and we’ve got all the details for you! Megadeth are back with some good news for fans following frontman Dave Mustaine‘s battle with throat cancer, and the ejection of bassist Dave Ellefson… They’ve got a new album on the way titled The Sick The Dying And The Dead!

Making its way into your earholes on September 2nd, this mark’s the band’s 16th studio album and they’ve kicked started promotion with the heavy metal madness that is ‘We’ll Be Back‘ – along with its music video that’s described as an epic, action-packed short film chronicling the origins of Vic Rattlehead. The storyline depicts “a soldier’s tale of bravery, personal sacrifice, and the will to survive. It is the first installment of a trilogy of videos to be released in conjunction with the release of our new album The Sick, The Dying… and The Dead!”

‘We’ll Be Back’ kicks off with that distinctive Dave Mustaine palm muting, before launching into verses depicting preparation for a looming battle. The chorus is fairly straight forward, though the backing vocals are going to be shouted back at them when they debut it live. What makes this one stand out in the extensive Megadeth cannon is that there are no less than 3 solo sections! With Brazilian guitar virtuoso Kiko Loureiro getting a co-write, you can be damn sure Kiko and Dave shred the hell out of the strings, with an extended riff off to close things out. It draws immediate comparisons to the classic Rust in Peace sound but is probably more in line with the later day onslaught of an album like Endgame. If this is the preview, we have a lot to look forward to among the album’s 12 tracks and those fears of a Supercollider style turkey can be put to bed.

If you like what you hear, get pre-orderin’ and check out the killer cover art below!

Words by KJ Draven (Twitter and Instagram)

Pre-Order The Sick, The Dying… And The Dead! here


MegadethThe Sick, The Dying… And The Dead! tracklisting 

1. The Sick, the Dying… and the Dead!
2. Life in Hell
3. Night Stalkers (feat. Ice-T)
4. Dogs of Chernobyl
5. Sacrifice
6. Junkie
7. Psychopathy
8. Killing Time
9. Soldier On!
10. Célebutante
11. Mission to Mars
12. We’ll Be Back

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!