Eat Your Heart Out Serve Up ‘Sour’ from Sophomore Album “Can’t Stay Forever”

Australian music is on fire at the moment and Newcastle’s Eat Your Heart Out are jumping in on the festivities with a brand new song and sophomore album that’s going to prove us Aussies are ahead of the rest of the pack. Soz world!

Following on from their debut release Florescence back in 2019, the Scooby Squad return with Cant Stay Forever which is scheduled for release on Sept 9th via Fearless Records. With the previously released single ‘Down‘ scoring rave reviews from fans, new single ‘Sour‘ is going to win them over too, with its blend of roaring guitars and a pop punk meets alt round sound that throws back to the early 2000s.

Frontwoman Caitlin Henry shares on the new track:

“We initially had a slightly different instrumental track that we just couldn’t quite get to work with anything vocally. We re-worked the instrumental with our producer Jack, and the vocals flowed really quickly within a day or two after that! The chorus in particular came together in an hour or so. The song is about seeing someone bottle up their negative feelings and dissociating, rather than talking it out, and getting stuck in a cycle.”

In terms of sound, they’re honing in on their Australian accents with a sound akin to that of Killing Heidi – and if you, like me, grew up in the heyday of bands like Grinspoon, Lash and Silverchair, you’re gonna swooon over this style.

Eat Your Heart Out scored the #6 spot in our 20 Aussie Pop Punk Bands to Watch in 2022 list and already they’re proving their worth so far – who knows where they’ll land in future years because they’re back, motivated and ready take on the world again!

Words by Paul ‘Browny’ Brown @brownypaul

Pre-Order/Save Can’t Stay Forever here

Eat Your Heart Out – Can’t Stay Forever tracklisting

1. Forget Me
2. Down
3. Scissors
4. Twenty Something
5. Heavenly
6. Hostage
7. Blood
8. Sour
9. Poison
10. Deep End
11. Headfirst

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3630 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!