Miss May I Deliver An ‘Earth Shaker’

Miss May I

Earth Shaker‘ is a pretty fitting song title when you think of Miss May I bursting back into the scene recently. After the Ohio band broke their five year silence with ‘Unconquered‘, metalcore fans rejoiced with nostalgia and were relieved that the outfit’s style had not dropped in quality, and remaining as elite as they’d ever been.

Once the dust settled, Miss May I dropped second single ‘Bleed Together‘ and concurrently announced their new record Curse of Existence out September 2 via SharpTone Records. The forthcoming LP is a follow-up to their  2017 album Shadows Inside, which really left a mark in the metalcore history books.

Miss May I have dropped a third tune for you to add to your ‘best of 2022’ playlist. ‘Earth Shaker‘ is aptly named. The three-minute belter kicks in with signature instrumentation, with Levi Benton channelling the full breadth of his unclean range. The band captures their At Heart muscle memory with a tuning and style that brings back memories to the early 2010s. The song is undeniably heavy, with the right balance of cleans and melody which is where Miss May I strike perfection. Songs like these are even better when sections are dedicated to Ryan Neff on the mic, delivering his intentionally rough and raw vocal style.

Words by Ricky Aarons (@rickysaul90)

Stream Miss May I – ‘Earth Shakerhere and
Pre-Save Curse of Existence here
Out September 2 via SharpTone Records

miss may i earth shaker

Miss May I – Curse of Existence tracklisting

1. A Smile That Does Not Exist
2. Earth Shaker
3. Bleed Together
4. Into Oblivion
5. Hollow Vessel
6. Free Fall
7. Born Destroyers
8. Unconquered
9. Savior to Self
10. Bloodshed

About Ricky Aarons (868 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.