WAAX Deliver Powerful New Single ‘Read Receipts’

Brisbane rockers WAAX are back in their raw punk essence with their latest single ‘Read Receipts’. It’s the third track to drop from the quartet’s forthcoming album, At Least I’m Free (out August 5th through Dew Process) and is another step in a maturing new direction for the band.

‘Read Receipts‘ is a pent-up song of fury and abandonment about those all-too-familiar feelings of being ghosted by someone. Featuring stark pop melodies that build on WAAX’s staple punk rock sound over the years, it’s a standout example of their progression. Frontwoman Maz DeVita shares:

“We’re pretty excited to let this one out as it’s perhaps our best songwriting effort in our opinion. This one came together super fast. James and I were writing together on the Sunshine Coast and immediately the melody and lyric fell out. It’s literally about being left on read and being left in the cold with no answers. I was definitely feeling those feels at the time.”

It follows the piano-driven ‘Dangerous‘ and indie punk banger ‘Help Me Hell‘, with each track so far highlighting so much diversity from these Aussie rockers. At Least I’m Free is sounding like the band’s biggest release yet!

Words by Tamara May @citylightstam

Listen to ‘Read Receiptshere

Pre-Order/Save At Least I’m Free here

WAAX – At Least I’m Free tracklisting

1. Mermaid Beach
2. Read Receipts
3. A Man Like Me
4. No Doz
5. Most Hated Girl
6. Beam Me Up
7. Dangerous
8. Jeff On The Streets
9. Help Me Hell
10. Same Bitch
11. Whoever

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Tamara May (1086 Articles)
Wall of Sound's Head of Album Reviews. Weekend Content. Pop Punk Enthusiast.