WAAX Unveil Sophomore Album “At Least I’m Free” + Drop Two New Tracks

It’s been three years since WAAX released their debut album Big Grief and we have been waiting to see what the Brisbane alt-rock/punks do next – that day has now come with the announcement of their follow up release and drop of two new songs!

The band’s sophomore album At Least I’m Free will see the light of day on August 5, 2022, and feature 11 new songs to swoon over – one of which being their comeback single ‘Most Hated Girl‘ released in September of last year.

On top of today’s news, WAAX also debuted two newbies – ‘Dangerous‘ – which is a piano-driven ballad with frontwoman Maz DeVita front and centre pouring her heart out for us all and ‘Help Me Hell‘ – another upbeat, raw punky sounding song from the Brisbane quartet. It’s got Maz’s signature yells and that punchy rock sound they’ve made their own over the years.

For ‘Dangerous‘, Maz teamed up with Linda Perry of 4 Non Blondes (and iconic songwriter for stars like Christina Aguilera, Pink and Gwen Stefani) revealing:

“I had talked to the (label) team about planning a writing trip over in LA in late 2019, so naturally everyone reached out to anyone they could think of. I don’t know what the universe was doing during that time, but an email found its way to Linda Perry, and she listened to our music. She requested to set up a writing session right away – and I was literally speechless. She told me she saw something in me, like a real darkness in my voice. Next thing I knew I was in an Uber on my way to her studio absolutely shitting myself. She was and still is the most remarkable human being I have ever had to privilege to meet.”

The end result is the masterpiece you’ll hear below.

As for ‘Help Me Hell‘, DeVita continues:

“We just wanted a straight to the point, minimal chords, simple lyrics and no BS. James [Gatling – WAAX guitarist and co-songwriter] and I wrote it in one session very quickly. I felt during that time that no matter what I tried my life was not changing, the same patterns were emerging, and I felt frustrated. I always had this feeling of hitting my head on the ceiling trying to get the f*ck out.”

Catch the band live on their Dangerous Tour throughout April and May here

Stream the new singles here

Pre-Order/Save At Least I’m Free here

WAAX – At Least I’m Free tracklisting

1. Mermaid Beach
2. Read Receipts
3. A Man Like Me
4. No Doz
5. Most Hated Girl
6. Beam Me Up
7. Dangerous
8. Jeff On The Streets
9. Help Me Hell
10. Same Bitch
11. Whoever

About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3807 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!