Simple Plan Have Finally Announced Their 6th Album + New Single ‘Congratulations’

No more “soon” or “it’s coming”. Simple Plan have announced that their forthcoming sixth album, Harder Than It Looks will be released on May 6, 2022. This recent onset comes after the Canadian pop punkers unleashed ‘The Antidote’ late last year and their brilliant collaboration featuring Sum 41’s Deryck Whibley, ‘Ruin My Life’.

For album #6, the guys seem to channelling internal and emotional struggles on this record, something that many of their fans have strongly connected with over their 20 year tenure as a band. Life presents us with many tough challenges, whether it be work, family or relationships. It really is “harder than it looks.” Some of Simple Plan’s best work has been the light that gets us through each day. Their latest track ‘Ruin My Life’ really celebrated overcoming those hurdles and became the emo anthem we all needed in 2022.

Which brings us to the band’s newest track. ‘Congratulations’ celebrates everything that comes around, goes around; the notion that only we are in control of our actions, no one else. The riffs thrown in on this track feel a little more of what we heard from the band’s fifth record, Taking One For The Team. However, while the song doesn’t feel nowhere as empowering as its predecessor, it does present us with more of that contemporary Simple Plan sound.

Words by Tamara May @citylightstam

Simple Plan – Harder Than It Looks tracklisting:

1. Wake Me Up (When This Nightmare’s Over)
2. Ruin My Life (feat. Deryck Whibley)
3. The Antidote
4. Million Pictures Of You
5. Anxiety
6. Congratulations
7. Iconic
8. Best Day of My Life
9. Slow Motion
10. Two

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Tamara May (1085 Articles)
Wall of Sound's Head of Album Reviews. Weekend Content. Pop Punk Enthusiast.