Alexisonfire Shares Ultimate Track ‘Sweet Dreams of Otherness’ + Announces Otherness Record


Alexisonfire fans, rejoice. This news news may just make your day (or even week/month/year). A new single is here! Aside from the odd single over the past few years, like ‘Season Of The Flood‘ and ‘Complicit‘, we haven’t heard a single from the Canadian post-hardcore band in quite some time, but obviously the band members have been passionate about their own side-projects too, including Dallas Green‘s highly successful band City & Colour, and more recently Wade MacNeil‘s psychedelic rock project Dooms Children.

Along with some of their post-hardcore revival peers making comebacks in 2022, like D.R.U.G.S. and A Skylit Drive, Alexisonfire are back in a big way with ‘Sweet Dreams of Otherness‘. Spanning about five minutes, the single captures their stadium rock sound along with the raw energy we’ve fallen in love with across their back catalogue. Check out the new single below and make up your own mind.

Update: We have a new album, and it’s been a while! Now, when we say Alexisonfire haven’t released a studio record in quite some time, we’re talking thirteen years since their highly successful record Old Crows / Young Cardinals. However, today that all changes. They’ve finally announced their fifth studio record Otherness, out June 24, 2022 via Dine Alone Records / Cooking Vinyl Australia.

On the new record MacNeil says:

“The biggest difference is the space we are all in. We were all really thrilled to make a record, and it was such a respite from what was going on in the world. It felt like life could be beautiful.” We were supportive of one another. Everyone was in such a good mood. It was such a treat to be able to do it again.”

Words by Ricky Aarons (@rickysaul90)

Stream Alexisonfire – ‘Sweet Dreams of Otherness‘ and
Pre-order Otherness here

Alexisonfire Otherness tracklist

AlexisonfireOtherness tracklisting

1. Committed to the Con
‎2. Sweet Dreams of Otherness ‎
3. Sans Soleil ‎
4. Conditional Love ‎
5. Blue Spade ‎
6. Dark Night of the Soul ‎
7. Mistaken Information ‎
8. Survivor’s Guilt ‎
9. Reverse the Curse ‎
10. World Stops Turning

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Ricky Aarons (688 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.