Avril Lavigne Unveils New Collab ‘Love It When You Hate Me’ Featuring Blackbear + New Album Love Sux is Coming!

2022’s about to go full throttle pop punk with Avril Lavigne returning to her former glory days. You wanted more of what she delivered in 2007 with The Best Damn Thing? You got it first with the explosive pop punk jam ‘Bite Me’ last year. Now Avril’s following it up with her second comeback of a single ‘Love It When You Hate Me’. Featuring alt/pop artist Blackbear, this track is the first of three collaborations that appear on her forthcoming album, Love Sux, out February 25 through Travis Barker’s DTA Records.

With this second single being a little more pop than ‘Bite Me’, ‘Love It When You Hate Me’ still packs quite the summery pop/rock vibe, especially going into that nostalgically sound guitar-fuelled chorus. Avril and Blackbear tag team throughout the verses, feeding off those love/hate emotions we experience in the early stages of dating. Because it’s that relatable, this affluent emo-pop masterpiece will surely become everyone’s new guilty pop pleasure.

We’ve been all over the progress of Avril’s return ever since 2019 when we caught up with producer John Feldmann who revealed he was working with the pop punk princess in the studio. Her seventh album, Love Sux, is also set to feature new collaborations with Machine Gun Kelly and Blink-182’s Mark Hoppus. The latter of which may be his first musical feature since overcoming cancer last year. If we’re going off the song titles listed on the official tracklisting though, this really does sound like the pop punk throwback 2022 has been looking for!

Words By Tamara May @citylightstam

Avril Lavigne’s seventh album, Love Sux is out February 25 through Warner Music/DTA Records.
Pre-order your copy here

Avril Lavigne – Love Sux tracklisting:

1. Cannonball
2. Bois Lie (feat. Machine Gun Kelly)
3. Bite Me
4. Love it When You Hate Me (feat. BlackBear)
5. Love Sux
6. Kiss Me Like the World is Ending
7. Avalanche
8. Deja Vu
9. F.U.
10. All I Wanted (feat. Mark Hoppus)
11. Dare to Love Me
12. Break of a Heartache

About Tamara May (1086 Articles)
Wall of Sound's Head of Album Reviews. Weekend Content. Pop Punk Enthusiast.

2 Comments on Avril Lavigne Unveils New Collab ‘Love It When You Hate Me’ Featuring Blackbear + New Album Love Sux is Coming!

  1. Corey Groves // January 21, 2022 at 4:52 am //

    I just wanted to say that I can’t wait until AvrilLavigne’s, “Love Sux” album gets released next month in February so that I can listen to her all of the songs on YouTube and heavily criticize them like I always do on the other songs on her previous a albums because her music can never be labeled as punk no matter what she and all of her fans out there says or thinks because her music is nothing but pure pop. She needs to stop denying on being a pop music artist who sings and writes pop music because that is who she is, and always have been ever since she came into the music industry back in the year, 2002 (that was the year that I graduated from hing school). Her music isn’t all that great and she deserves to have all of the criticism by other people out there because she has criticized other music artists in the music industry for no reason, and she shouldn’t be doing that because they didn’t do or say anything to her for her to be doing that. End of story.

Comments are closed.