Tom Morello teams up with Phantogram for ‘Driving To Texas’

Following on from the drop of his collaborative cover of AC/DC‘s ‘Highway to Hell‘ alongside Eddie Vedder and Bruce Springsteen, the one and only Tom Morello is back with the next collaboration from his forthcoming album The Atlas Underground Fire and it’s a haunting slow burn that’s gonna make your road trips last that little bit longer.

Driving To Texas‘ features multi-instrumentalist duo Phantogram, consisting of Sarah Barthel and Josh Carter, who, combined with Morello, create this alluring piece of music that’s one part love song, one part soul crushing experience when you take a step back and listen to what’s being sung towards you.

Turns out Tom was just as surprised at the final outcome as we are:

“I’d worked with Josh from Phantogram on my first Atlas Underground album and I was thrilled when he and Sarah reached out about collaborating on this record. This song is creepy as hell –a dark journey, a struggle for a tortured soul. The guitar solo needed to feel like a vengeful angel who has come down to decide the fate of the protagonist. Will they descend into the abyss or will they find redemption? “Driving To Texas,” really shows the breadth of the music you’ll hear on this record. Sarah has one of the most haunting and beautiful voices of anyone singing today, and Josh’s production is stylistically so fresh and eerie…”

Stream ‘Driving To Texashere

The Atlas Underground Fire is out October 15th. Pre-order here

Tom Morello – The Atlas Underground Fire tracklisting:

1. Harlem Hellfighter
2. Highway to Hell (featuring Bruce Springsteen and Eddie Vedder)
3. Let’s Get The Party Started (featuring Bring Me The Horizon)
4. Driving to Texas (featuring Phantogram)
5. The War Inside (featuring Chris Stapleton)
6. Hold The Line (featuring grandson)
7. Naraka (featuring Mike Posner)
8. The Achilles List (featuring Damian Marley)
9. Night Witch (featuring phem)
10. Charmed I’m Sure (featuring Protohype)
11. Save Our Souls (featuring Dennis Lyxzén of Refused)
12. On The Shore Of Eternity (featuring Sama’ Abdulhadi)

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3586 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Tom Morello Dropped A Collaboration with Bring Me The Horizon – Wall Of Sound

Comments are closed.