Tom Morello Announces New Collaborative Project, The Atlas Underground Fire

Following on from his 2018 album, The Atlas Underground, legendary rock guitarist Tom Morello has today announced his new project born out of lockdown, The Atlas Underground Fire. It’s a follow-up record set to include a stellar list of guest collaborations, including Bring Me The Horizon’s Oli Sykes!

Kicking off this forthcoming release is Morello’s homage to Aussie rock’n’roll legends AC/DC with ‘Highway to Hell’, which sees him team up with fellow music icons Bruce Springsteen and Pearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder, with Morello sharing:

“Our version of ‘Highway To Hell’ pays homage to AC/DC but with Bruce Springsteen and Eddie Vedder, brings this legendary song into the future. One of the greatest rock’n’roll songs of all time sung by two of the greatest rock’n’roll singers of all time. And then I drop a shredding guitar solo. Thank you and good night.” 

The Atlas Underground Fire is set to feature a further eleven tracks, seeing Morello work with artists from a range of genres, including Chris Stapleton, Mike Posner and even touching on the metal scene with Bring Me The Horizon’s Oli Sykes! I don’t know about you, but my ears definitely pricked up here. The album was completely produced during the COVID pandemic, which saw Morello work entirely from his home studio without an engineer for the first time:

“During lockdown I had no access to an engineer so I had to record all of the guitar parts on the voice memo of my phone. This seemed like an outrageous idea but it lead to a freedom in creativity in that I could not overthink any of the guitar parts and just had to trust my instincts. This record was a life raft in a difficult time that allowed me to find new ways of creating new global artistic connections that helped transform a time of fear and anxiety into one of musical expression and rocking jams.”

With Tom being no stranger to making an impact on his past musical projects, you can bet now that The Atlas Underground Fire will be yet another innovative masterpiece from one of the greatest rock icons of our generation.

The Atlas Underground Fire will be released on October 15 by Mom + Pop Music. Pre-order here

Tom Morello – The Atlas Underground Fire tracklisting:

1. Harlem Hellfighter
2. Highway to Hell (featuring Bruce Springsteen and Eddie Vedder)
3. Let’s Get The Party Started (featuring Bring Me The Horizon)
4. Driving to Texas (featuring Phantogram)
5. The War Inside (featuring Chris Stapleton)
6. Hold The Line (featuring grandson)
7. Naraka (featuring Mike Posner)
8. The Achilles List (featuring Damian Marley)
9. Night Witch (featuring phem)
10. Charmed I’m Sure (featuring Protohype)
11. Save Our Souls (featuring Dennis Lyxzén of Refused)
12. On The Shore Of Eternity (featuring Sama’ Abdulhadi)

About Tamara May (1086 Articles)
Wall of Sound's Head of Album Reviews. Weekend Content. Pop Punk Enthusiast.

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Tom Morello teams up with Phantogram for ‘Driving To Texas’ – Wall Of Sound

Comments are closed.