Deadlights Drop Throttling New Single ‘Sudden Life / Sudden Death’

Brisbane heavyweights Deadlights are basically dominating the scene thus far this year. After releasing two stellar tracks — ‘Born of a Lie’ and ‘The King of Nowhere’ — there’s no doubt that the guys long awaited follow up to 2017’s Mesma is being welcomed with open arms.

This time around, the band are slamming down overarching melodies against thundering riffs that smashes in and around vocalist Dylan Davidson’s harsh but mesmerising vocals so spectacularly. Honestly, this feels like my favourite of the three so far!

Of the new track, Davidson shares:

“I wrote ‘Sudden Life / Sudden Death’ on my birthday last year. Having life at such a standstill with COVID during that time made me really think about how much time I have wasted in my life. I wanted to send a message to my past self and tell me to get my act together sooner because you never know what the future holds. You just have to embrace the cards you’ve been dealt in the present. Time is relentless. The clock stops ticking for no one.”

With three monster tracks under their sleeve, Deadlights’ forthcoming album, The Uncanny Valley is proving to be hot property this year. No doubt that support slot for Polaris’ national tour is well deserved.

Deadlights will unveil The Uncanny Valley on May 21 through Greyscale Records. Pre-Order here

Deadlights – The Uncanny Valley tracklisting

1. The Uncanny Valley
2. Schedule 1
3. The King Of Nowhere
4. Born Of A Lie
5. Contact
6. Electrodrome
7. [I See The Future]
8. Echo Chamber
9. Sudden Life / Sudden Death
10. Pythia
11. Frozen Over

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Tamara May (1086 Articles)
Wall of Sound's Head of Album Reviews. Weekend Content. Pop Punk Enthusiast.