Cast Your Ears Over Gojira’s Latest Offering ‘Amazonia’


You’ve got to embrace this special time where French metallers Gojira are letting the world know they’re back in full force. It’s a time where you get to experience new music from the band for the first time, an audio sensation that you don’t get to experience too often. Gushing aside, Gojira released Born For One Thing a few weeks ago and it was so good that we knew the next number from these guys would be a banger too.

Amazonia’ kicks off with an ominous yet groovy rhythm, and is immediately identifiable as the almighty Gojira. The 5-minute track gets you immersed from the get-go. As vocalist Joe Duplantier kicks in, you can’t help but close your eyes and flex those neck muscles for a good-old head-bang. The song is a bit of a fresher recipe than what the boys usually go with. There’s something about the distortions and speed that’s a bit Mastodon-esque with the integration of those signature whale-metal Gojira sounds thrown in. Mid-way through ‘Amazonia’ it kicks into a bit of a spacey interlude as the drums take over a bit. The crescendo kicks back and then reverts back to a steady beat that you never want to end.

It’s certainly an interesting one for the metal maestros, a great song, and huge hope for some experimentation on the *hopeful* upcoming record.

Words by Ricky Aarons @rickysaul90

Get ready for Fortitude and pre-order the album here.

Gojira - Fortitude

Gojira – Fortitude tracklisting

1. Born for One Thing
2. Amazonia
3. Another World
4. Hold On
5. New Found
6. Fortitude
7. The Chant
8. Sphinx
9. Into the Storm
10. The Trails
11. Grind

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Ricky Aarons (605 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.