Gojira Announce New Album & Release Single ‘Born For One Thing’

French heavyweights Gojira have woken us up with some fine new music. The metallers have released a brand new single and video ‘Born For One Thing’ and announced their upcoming record Fortitude, set for release on April 30th.

This will be the band’s first full studio album in five years, a follow-up to Magma in 2016, and if that record was anything to go by then we’re in for something big.

Gojira have posted on socials, stating that ‘Born For One Thing’ is their first single off the upcoming record, however we got treated to ‘Another World’ in the latter half of 2020, coupled with a music video, and the song is listed on the forthcoming album titled Fortitude below.

Born For One Thing’ starts ominously but then those screechy signature riffs kick in and Joe Duplantier‘s raspy vocals kick in with vigorous drumming and stunning riffs. The music video is set in a classic-lounge-room type setting, with the music video following a museum incident.

The song boasts some wonderful prog-elements and some particularly unique Gojira elements, reinvented as the band do, each time they release new music. The latter third of the track melts down into tuned-down chaos which will get your neck spasming with head-banging excitement.

Words by Ricky Aarons @rickysaul90

Get ready for Fortitude and pre-order the album here.

Gojira - Fortitude

1. Born for One Thing
2. Amazonia
3. Another World
4. Hold On
5. New Found
6. Fortitude
7. The Chant
8. Sphinx
9. Into the Storm
10. The Trails
11. Grind

About Ricky Aarons (287 Articles)
Heavy music writer for Wall of Sound // Metal Spin Class Guy

2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Cast Your Ears Over Gojira’s Latest Offering ‘Amazonia’ – Wall Of Sound
  2. Gojira Continue Bringing The Love With Riff-Heavy Tune ‘Into The Storm’ – Wall Of Sound

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: