AFI secretly dropped a new song overnight called ‘Get Dark’ from a forthcoming EP called The Missing Man

Ummmm so yesterday AFI removed Davey Havok from all of their posts on Instagram and uploaded a new band press photo with him removed, sparking calls from fans wondering WTF? was going on.

Well, overnight it seems the guys have kept fans in the dark because they’ve uploaded A NEW FUCKING SONG ONLINE called ‘Get Dark‘ and it’s really good. If you’re expecting the post-hardcore screams saga of the band, you’re gonna have a bad time, but if you enjoy their moderately-paced riffy sounds, similar to that of 2009’s Crash Love, you’re kinda on the right path for this new song’s sound.

On the new song, Havok stated:

“From the initial performance and recording, it had a driving sense of forward movement and penetrating connection. The song’s themes of deification and deference, self-loathing and vanity, captivation and release, damage and healing, are posed in a subtle invitation to those inherently compelled to accept.”

Turns out they kept the producing close to home too with guitarist Jade Puget taking the reigns this time around for the EP which he elaborated a bit more about the idea he was going for:

 “I was aiming for something a little raw for ‘Get Dark.’ In fact, I used most of the vocal takes from the very first time Davey sang it, as well as some of my guitar parts from when we were writing it. The song is built on the sparseness and simplicity of the verse drum groove and guitar riff that opens up into this big anthemic chorus. For the EP, the same idea of a certain rawness was really important to the overall vibe. I feel like it’s easy to turn out a slick, polished set of songs, but to walk that fine line between studio creation and live sound can be difficult. It’s been an intense labor of love and we can’t wait for everyone to hear it.”

The track is from the band’s forthcoming EP The Missing Man which is set for release on December 7th according to iTunes. Pre-Order it now and get the first release instantly. The song is also available to stream on Spotify too.

afi - the missing man EP

AFI – The Missing Man EP tracklisting

1. Trash Boat
2. Break Angels
3. Back into the Sun
4. Get Dark
5. The Missing Man

Pre-Order here

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3582 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. The Library of Dreams (AFI) | thecinematicexperiance

Comments are closed.