Avenged Sevenfold’s New Track ‘We Love You’ Is A Ensemble of Genres, Time Signatures and Clutter

We’re etching closer to the release of Avenged Sevenfold’s new album Life Is But A Dream and following on from first single Nobody‘, the band are back with what can only be described as a concoction of all sorts of music rolled into what they’re labelling as single #2 ‘We Love You‘.

Commencing with a fast-paced (and killer) Brooks Wackerman drum intro, frontman M. Shadows chimes in with his high-pitch vocals with a complementing guitar riff behind him. Once his intro is complete though, that’s when the journey into the unknown commences – and you better fasten your seatbelts because it’s a journey through landmine-ridden landscapes that change direction every few moments – making it hard for this ADHD-riddled brain to keep up.

There are rock bits, metal jams and throwdowns, heaven-like stopdowns and rap-infused (advertising-esque) spoken experiential nu-metal sections – it’s almost as if this song tries hard to be everything we know about metal with a dash of influence from all over. It’s incohesive and makes for a jarring listening experience to be honest and if that’s the approach they’re going for – then godspeed to them, but for this reviewer, it fell flat.

I get bands want to be artsy and try new things – but when you’re an established act, on a global stage and you do something like this, it makes everyone wonder what’s going on – I guess as they say, any publicity is good publicity, right?

Listen for yourself.

Words by Paul ‘Browny’ Brown

Life Is But A Dream is due for release on June 2 via Warner Records.

Pre-Save/Order here

Avenged Sevenfold – Life is But A Dream tracklisting

1. Game Over
2. Mattel
3. Nobody
4. We Love You
5. Cosmic
6. Beautiful Morning
7. Easier
8. G
9. (O)rdinary
10. (D)eath
11. Life Is But a Dream…

About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3686 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!