Cattle Decapitation Serve Up ‘Scourge Of The Offspring’

Cattle Decapitation promo 2023

Like the toughest of leatherhide, cured, burned, and beaten… Cattle Decapitation stands tall on ‘Scourge of the Offspring,’ a triumph of technique and taste that comes just shy of the fabled San Diego unit’s 30th anniversary! As these West-Coast warriors look towards Terrasite, the group’s eighth studio offering for Metal Blade Records, it’s obvious that the best of this band is truly yet to come!

One of the seminal early players in the extreme music revolution of the mid-late 1990’s, Cattle Decapitation has courted many different sounds over the years, dabbling with death metal, grindcore–before finding their groove as a ‘deathgrind’ export! Fast and flawless, these veterans draw from orchestral overtures, dark ambience, blast beats, and beyond–to create the razor-sharp sound that has propelled them for well over two decades!

Seamlessly picking up where 2019’s acclaimed Death Atlas left off, ‘Scourge of the Offspring’ tells a tale of mankind’s greed and destruction. Expertly crafted, the tune’s balanced body features a head-banging intro, blistering verses, and chilling, atmospheric refrains; at a time when much of the [younger] metal scene has abandoned traditional song-structure in favor of winding, emotional roadmaps (often leading to nowhere)–Cattle Decapitations maturity, not their age, shines through on this stunning new number… Spewing hellfire and hate, longtime frontman Travis Ryan shows why he is still one of the best in the business; fearlessly laying the instrumental foundation beneath, Josh Elmore, Dave McGraw, Belisario Dimuzio, and Oliver Pinard are anything but ‘chopped liver!’

Words by Thomas Hiscock

Pre-Order/save Terrasite here

Cattle Decapitation – Terrasite tracklisting

1. Terrasitic Adaptation
2. We Eat Our Young
3. Scourge Of The Offspring
4. The Insignificants
5. The Storm Upstairs
6. …And The World Will Go On Without You
7. A Photic Doom
8. Dead End Residents
9. Solastalgia
10. Just Another Body

About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3695 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!