Darkthrone’s Next Chapter Begins with ‘Caravan of Broken Ghosts’ from 20th LP “Astral Fortress”

One of the Norwegian metal scene’s greatest success stories, the next chapter of Darkthrone’s storied career is right around the corner. Having conquered black metal with their string of legendary albums between 1992 and 1994, the duo of Gylve ‘Fenriz’ Nagell and TedNocturno Culto’ Skjellum have spent their careers amassing endless acclaim from the extreme music underground, whilst actively pushing out the boundaries of their sound.

Sixteen months since the release of the fantastic Eternal Hails…, the Norwegian legends have served up the first taster of their upcoming 20th full-length, Astral Fortress. The LP’s epic, near-eight-minute opener ‘Caravan of Broken Ghosts’ is the perfect introduction to the new record.

It’s a multi-faceted, multi-section song – no parts repeated – with the vintage-loving two-piece serving up a vast array of raw, metallic sounds. From its classic metal intro, the proto-trash middle and the doom/blackened outro, it’s a real smorgasbord of sounds for Darkthrone devotees.

On the new song, Fenriz says

“There is a revisit vibe of ‘Quintessence’ at first, which is a total coincidence as it is Ted’s song and I wrote ‘Q’. The song then explodes into fiercer metal, pounding and catching there as well, with clever riff shifts. And then the classic doom ending. Thank you, Ted”

Written by – Andrew Kapper.

Stream ‘Caravan Of Broken Ghostshere

Pre-order/save Astral Fortress here

Darkthrone – Astral Fortress tracklisting

1. Caravan Of Broken Ghosts [07:53]
2. Impeccable Caverns Of Satan [05:34]
3. Stalagmite Necklace [05:22]
4. The Sea Beneath The Seas Of The Sea [10:10]
5. Kevorkian Times [04:27]
6. Kolbotn, West Of The Vast Forests [01:54]
7. Eon 2 [04:40]

About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3811 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!