Architects Unveil 10th Studio Album + Drop Industrial Metal Influenced Single ‘Tear Gas’

architects 2022

It only feels like last year when Architects released their #1 ARIA Charting album For Those That Wish To Exist… Oh, wait, it was! But now they’re already keen to release new music because the band has announced a new album, its heavy lead single, and holy shit I am hyperventilating already!!

The Brighton boys have unveiled their tenth studio album the classic symptoms of a broken spirit – which is set for release via Epitaph Records on October 21st. The news comes alongside the band’s lead single ‘Tear Gas‘ which has some impressive heavy riffs bringing us into the song alongside some industrial metal/EDM synth and frontman Sam Carter’s delightful vocals. It slaps like a backhand to the face and is a completely new sound from our favourite musical builders. There’s a sense of dread throughout, especially with the guitar parts that I can only imagine are played by Josh Middleton – utilising skills from his own metal band Sylosis and once again bringing the back to Architects world (like he did with ‘An Ordinary Extinction‘ on FTTWTE).

On the new album, drummer/songwriter Dan Searle says:

“This one feels more live, more exciting and more fun – it has that energy.” with frontman Sam Carter chiming in with “We wanted it to be a lot more industrial and electronic…”

Speaking of that fun, the music video sees the band showing off their fun/playful side with a hilarious spin on the end of the world with the group taking on the role of bumbling scientists – with plenty of meme-worthy moments and laughs.

Back in April, when they released standalone single ‘when we were young‘, they pulled the wool over our eyes because that song is also part of this upcoming release which begs the question – just how much more material have these guys got behind them? And how do you follow up such an incredibly hard-hitting release like For Those That Wish To Exist, which featured the banging tracks ‘Animals‘, ‘Impermanence‘ and ‘Goliath‘?

Time will tell, but already these two new tracks have me feeling gooood about what else they’ve got in the pipeline for fans! They really are one of the best and hardest working bands in the scene today and they make being a fan so joyful when they pull off stunts like this.

Words by Paul ‘Browny’ Brown @brownypaul

Stream ‘Tear Gashere

Pre-Order the classic symptoms of a broken spirit here

architects album the classic symptoms of a broken spirit

ArchitectsThe Classic Symptoms of A Broken Spirit tracklisting

1. deep fake
2. tear gas
3. spit the bone
4. burn down my house –
5. living is killing us
6. when we were young
7. doomscrolling
8. born again pessimist
9. a new moral low ground
10. all the love in the world
11. be very afraid

About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3768 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!