Armor For Sleep Return with First Single in 15 Years ‘How Far Apart’ + Announce New LP

It’s like they never left us.

2000s emo-tinged rock outfit Armor For Sleep have risen out of a deep hiatus with their brand new single ‘How Far Apart‘. It marks the band’s first new song in fifteen years, and the leading track from their forthcoming new record, The Rain Museum, out September 9th through Equal Vision Records.

Vocalist Ben Jorgenson sounds in his element through that soaring chorus of emotion amidst the empowering drums that take the lead here. ‘How Far Apart‘ will surely take you back to Armor For Sleep’s pivotal record, What To Do When You Are Dead where the band garnered much of their fanbase with their punchy, hard-hitting brand of alternative/emo rock. The new track paves the way for these emo favourites to pick up where they left off as they prepare to unveil the new record this September.

Jorgenson shares:

“We are very excited to share our new album, ‘The Rain Museum’ with everyone. Back in 2020, at the start of the pandemic and at the start of our collective lockdown, I made it my mission to finish writing a concept album that I had the idea for many years but was never able to bring to life. ‘The Rain Museum’ was initially  a short story I wrote many years ago about a post-apocalyptic Earth and a mysterious museum in the middle of the desert. Weaving the story into an album was going to be my quarantine project.

Unfortunately, my marriage of nearly eight years and basically my entire life fell apart as I was beginning the writing process. The one thing I had in my life to divert my attention from what I was going through was the creative process of writing that album… so I decided to push through and keep working on the record…but something weird happened. Because I couldn’t ignore what I was going through personally, I wound up writing myself and what I was going through into the story of the album and into the world I had been creating for this concept record.

In the end, it’s an album about facing some of the most painful parts of being human and how lost we can get. I just hope it will speak to people going through their own dark times, as my favorite art certainly helped me get through mine.”

The album will drop a month out from Armor For Sleep’s appearance on the biggest nostalgic event of the year, When We Were Young Festival this October in Las Vegas.

Words by Tamara May @citylightstam

Pre-order/pre-save The Rain Museum here

Armor For Sleep – The Rain Museum tracklisting:

1. The Rain Museum
2. How Far Apart
3. See You On The Other Side
4. World Burn Down
5. In This Nightmare Together
6. New Rainbows
7. I’m Not Myself
8. Whatever Who Cares
9. Rather Drown
10. A Teardrop On The Surface Of The Sun
11.  Tomorrow Faded Away
12. Spinning Through Time

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Tamara May (1086 Articles)
Wall of Sound's Head of Album Reviews. Weekend Content. Pop Punk Enthusiast.