Machine Head Bring The Groove on Slow-Jam ‘Unhalløwed’

Machine Head 2022

Back in April, metal titans Machine Head announced their new album Øf Kingdøm And Crøwn was set for release on August 26th via Nuclear Blast and they lead with the first taste of it ‘Chøke Øn The Ashes Øf Yøur Hate‘ which brought the heavy riffs and screams back to the forefront! Now the band are back with the next single, and this time they’re slowing things dowwwwwwn…

Unhalløwed‘ strips back all the heaviness that was delivered with the first song drop with a focus on frontman Robb Flynn‘s cleans in a balladesque metal anthem that would make any Metallica black album fan wet their pants. It’s not your typical radio rock song, because towards the end of the track, it breaks out in an all-in jam with riff city dualling, frantic guitar solos and a drum beat that’ll keep you running mid-sprint if you love your metal at the gym.

It may take a few spins to get the message, but for the most part, it’s showing a softer side of the band and we need that change in tempo so it’s not guns blazing from start to finish.

Give it a spin below and check out the band’s live playthrough from Electric Hour.

Words by Paul ‘Browny’ Brown (@brownypaul)

Pre-order Of Kingdom And Crown here

machine head of kingdom and crown

Machine Head – Øf Kingdøm And Crøwn tracklisting

 1. Slaughter The Martyr
2. Chøke Øn The Ashes Øf Yøur Hate
3. Becøme The Firestørm
4. Øverdøse
5. My Hands Are Empty
6. Unhalløwed
7. Assimilate
8. Kill Thy Enemies
9. Nø Gøds, Nø Masters
10. Bløødshøt
11. Røtten
12. Terminus
13. Arrøws In Wørds Frøm The Sky

About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3809 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!