Behemoth Preview New Album with Second Blackened Punk Single ‘Off to War!’

Behemoth 2022

Behemoth have continued to build the hype for their new album, OPVS CONTRA NATVRAM, with second single ‘Off to War!‘. Following the reception of their previous single, ‘Ov My Herculean Exile’, the band show off a different element ov their sound on this one.

It starts ominous enough but soon brings in a series of riffs that are best described as blackened punk. It’s not quite thrash but the chords echo a simpler progression to that found in punk tunes. It certainly retains a dark tone though, with more atmospheric verses and Negal‘s trademark bark. It’s actually quite a complicated composition – you’ll hear it all through headphones. Check out what the bass is doing throughout the song. Nergal has already declared ‘Off to War!‘ has the best solo on a Behemoth song and it is pretty sweet, leading into a more traditional extreme section near the end that brings it home. Have to admit though, even if it sounds different at various points, there is no mistaking it is Behemoth. Like ‘Ov My Herculean Exile’, it will be killer in the live sets, especially as a contrasting high tempo track.

The man himself describes it as such:

“one of my personal favorites from the new record. This song has a killer punk section, one of the greatest Behemoth leads of all time, and a nice extreme metal twist at the end. A true sonic tornado in times of confrontation — enjoy it, legions!!”

The video is also suitably dark. Shot in black and white with plenty of black metal imagery (fire, forests, moons, snakes, snow) and some pretty cool animation that is seriously unsettling as a visual feast. You can check it out in full below.

‘Off to War!’ comes from the band’s recently announced album, OPVS CONTRA NATVRAM, which is set for release via Nuclear Blast on 16th September. The album translates to Work Against Nature.

Words by KJ Draven @kjdraven

Stream Behemoth – ‘‘Off to War!’ here

Pre-order Behemoth‘s new album here

behemoth OPVS CONTRA NATVRAM wall of sound australia

Behemoth – OPVS CONTRA NATVRAM tracklisting

1. Post-God Nirvana
2. Malaria Vvlgata
3. The Deathless Sun
4. Ov My Herculean Exile
5. Neo-Spartacvs
6. Disinheritance
7. Off To War!
8. Once Upon A Pale Horse
9. Thy Becoming Eternal
10. Versvs Christvs

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!