Soilwork Returns With Forthcoming Övergivenheten Record + Title Track

Soilwork 2022

It’s been a busy time for the Gothenburg melodic death metal scene lately. Rather recently we had the ex-In Flames legacy members reunite for The Halo Effect and now Soilwork has launched their next album cycle. The Swedish outfit has released an almighty eleven studio records, the most recent being Verkligheten (our review here) in 2019.

After a three-year album break (thanks to COVID) Soilwork are back with brand new music, as well as a new bassist – Rasmus Ehrborn officially joined earlier this year. The melodeath metalers’ twelfth album is called Övergivenheten and will come out on August 19, 2022 via Nuclear Blast. ‘Övergivenheten’, which translates to ‘Abandonment‘ is also their lead-track which you can hear right now.

The six-minute song encapsulates Soilwork‘s atmospheric sound upon an extended journey with peaks and troughs, however even the troughs are merely melodic ballad sections that harmoniously fit with the Scandinavian riffage and chaos. Övergivenheten could be a wild one, let’s see how the rest of the album shapes up.

Words by Ricky Aarons (@rickysaul90)

Stream Soilwork – ‘Övergivenheten‘ and
Pre-order Övergivenheten here
Out August 19 via Nuclear Blast

Soilwork Övergivenheten tracklisting

SoilworkÖvergivenheten tracklisting

1. Övergivenheten
2. Nouse Sommes la Guerre
3. Electric Again
4. Valleys Of Gloam
5. Is It In Your Darkness
6. Vultures
7. Morgongåva/Stormfågel
8. Death, I Hear You Calling
9. This Godless Universe
10. Dreams Of Nowhere
11. The Everlasting Flame
12. Golgata
13. Harvest Spine
14. On The Wings Of A Goddess Through Flaming Sheets Of Rain

About Ricky Aarons (868 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.