Five Finger Death Punch Has New Album Afterlife Incoming, Hear ‘IOU’ Now

Five Finger Death Punch Times Like These review

Five Finger Death Punch (5FDP) reigns from Las Vegas and in their fifteen odd years as a band, they’ve amassed over 8 billion streams and 3 billion video views to date and have sold over one million tickets between 2018 and 2020 alone.

Having released eight studio albums, including their 2020 record F8 (our review here), 5FDP are back with a post-pandemic release on the way. The rock/metalers will release Afterlife on August 19 via Better Noise Music. So far, they’ve shared self-titled track ‘Afterlife‘ as a lead-track, and to keep the momentum going, 5FDP are now sharing second song ‘IOU‘.

The official lyric video for ‘IOU‘ provides a first ever sneak-peek into 5FDP‘s Metaverse project which is based on a gamified fan club experience, which is pretty neat. Suss out the Fan Club app here.

On the new album guitarist Zoltan Bathory comments:

AFTERLIFE was hands down my favourite record to make. It is our ninth album so at this point, we have legions of loyal fans, and our signature sound is more than established. It became its own island, our ground zero we operate from and we can always come back to. So when we started this record, there was an excitement of impending musical adventures, we knew we could step away as far as we wanted to, there was a freedom of truly ‘anything goes’.

This resulted in an album that is way more diverse than our previous ones, while it feels more unified, because there is a framework of overarching stories in Ivan’s lyrics and interconnecting musical motifs between songs. It was not planned as a concept album, but we were so hyper-focused on painting a complete picture, it somehow feels like one… We are very proud of it and are just as impatient as the fans waiting for the release, can’t wait to share it.”

Words by Ricky Aarons (@rickysaul90)

Stream Five Finger Death Punch – ‘IOUhere and
Pre-order Afterlife here
Out August 19 via Better Noise Music

Five Finger Death Punch Afterlife tracklisting

Five Finger Death Punch Afterlife tracklisting

1. Welcome To The Circus
2. AfterLife
3. Times Like These
4. Roll Dem Bones
5. Pick Up Behind You
6. Judgment Day
7. IOU
8. Thanks For Asking
9. Blood And Tar
10. All I Know
11. Gold Gutter
12. The End

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Ricky Aarons (695 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.