Three Days Grace Recently Reunited with Ex-Frontman Adam Gontier Who Has New Music Out via Saint Asonia

Three Days Grace Interview 2022

We are feeling the Three Days Grace fever at the moment. With Explosions (our review here) on repeat over at Wall of Sound HQ, we’re still thinking about our recent chat with bassist and backup vocalist Brad Walst who spoke about how his brother Matt Walst has settled into vocal duties during recent years after the departure of long-time frontman Adam Gontier (read the full interview here).

With Gontier leaving Three Days Grace back in 2013, the band found their feet again with Matt, and have released some unbelievable records since. However, Gontier’s also continued his musical career with the outfit Saint Asonia, which Brad touched on in our recent chat.

“They have a lot of great tunes. The lineup’s changed a little bit but Mike (Mushok) from Staind, the guitar player’s still in the lineup, and I think they have a new record coming up this year as well.”  

Recently, Neil Sanderson (drums, backing vocals and keyboards), caught up with Gontier after what seemed like many years apart. Judging by the Instagram caption on his post (see below), it seemed like the relationship remains strong. 

Brad also appears to have maintained a relationship with Gontier over the years.

I’ve seen him here and there. He lives back in our hometown in Canada now, so we cross paths quite often. He’s doing great, he’s happy and healthy. He’s got a nice family and he’s doing good.”

Coincidentally, on Explosions release day, Saint Asonia also released new music. The group shared new single ‘Above It All‘ and announced their Introvert EP, a follow-up to their 2019 sophomore record Flawed DesignThe forthcoming release will be out on July 1st via Spinefarm

In closing, which Three Days Grace era do you prefer? Is it the former One-X years with Gontier, or does Explosions hit the spot with Walst? Let us know in the Wall of Sound Community of Legends Facebook Group.

Words by Ricky Aarons @rickysaul90

Explosions is out now via Sony Music Australia/RCA Records.
Grab it here

Three Days Grace interview

Three Days Grace – Explosions tracklisting

1. So Called Life
2. I Am The Weapon
3. Neurotic feat. Lukas Rossi
4. Lifetime
5. A Scar Is Born
6. Souvenirs
7. No Tomorrow
8. Redemption
9. Champion
10. Chain of Abuse
11. Someone To Talk To feat. Apocalyptica
12. Explosions

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Ricky Aarons (694 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.