Joyce Manor Present Captivating Single ‘Don’t Try’

If you’re a fan of Motion City Soundtrack’s golden days, then this might pique your interest. Californian pop punkers Joyce Manor have unveiled the next track from their forthcoming album, 40 oz to Fresno. ‘Don’t Try’ is a short fuse of hooks injected with contemporary rock melodies that seemingly acts as a teaser for what we can expect in June.

The single follows last month’s release, ‘Gotta Let It Go’. While both tracks are shorter than your average pop punk song, I get immediate throwbacks to the mid-noughties when bands like Every Avenue and All Time Low were kickstarting their careers. Short, punchy and riddled with raw emotion is how we like our pop punk too.

Words by Tamara May @citylightstam

Joyce Manor’s new album 40 oz to Fresno is out June 10 through Epitaph Records. Pre-order here

Joyce Manor40 oz to Fresno tracklisting:

1. Souvenir
3. Reason To Believe
4. You’re Not Famous Anymore
5. Don’t Try
6. Gotta Let It Go
7. Dance With Me
8. Did You Ever Know
9. Secret Sisters

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Tamara May (1085 Articles)
Wall of Sound's Head of Album Reviews. Weekend Content. Pop Punk Enthusiast.