D.R.U.G.S. Sustains Their Energy With ‘Brighter Side’

D.R.U.G.S. Outcasts vs. Everyone review

The Destroy Rebuild Until God Shows (D.R.U.G.S.) takeover is here in 2022, and it’s been a ride. If you’re reading this you’re probably across the sequencing of events that’ve taken place so far with this band, but as always a quick summation for you.

Back in 2020, frontman Craig Owens shared a demo for ‘King I Am‘, and then late last year we got word that Jona Weinhofen (I Killed The Prom Queen, Bring Me The Horizon, Bleeding Through) had officially joined D.R.U.G.S. for their next era. As this year came around, we heard that the lineup grew as they recruited Aaron Patrick (Bury Your DeadDevilDriverAll That Remains).

Shortly after we learned the whole lineup, we finally got to hear the first couple of songs that Craig, Jona and Aaron put together, namely ‘Destiny‘ and ‘Satellites In Motion’. D.R.U.G.S. also announced their forthcoming Destroy Rebuild record, set for June 17th, 2022 via Velocity Records, and have now shared a third track called ‘Brighter Side‘.

The new track takes on a particularly melodic side of D.R.U.G.S. with Owens testing his range. The single is tuned right down with Weinhofen clearly having fun with the contemporary style. ‘Brighter Side’ gets incrementally heavier, with drums taking the limelight. It’s a highly energetic single and will fill your cup for the day.

Words by Ricky Aarons (@rickysaul90)

Stream D.R.U.G.S. – ‘Brighter Side’ here
Pre-order Destroy Rebuild here

D.R.U.G.S. Destroy Rebuild tracklisting

D.R.U.G.S. – Destroy Rebuild tracklisting

1. Destiny
2. Satellites in Motion
3. Gold (feat. Charity Vance)
4. Brighter Side
5. Outcasts vs Everyone (feat. Brennan Savage)
6. Supercalifragilisticexistentialcrisis
7. The Longest Road
8. (Are we not drawn onward to) New Era
9. What’s the Code for Heaven’s Gate?
10. Gravity (My Ever Ghost)
11. Waiting on You
12. The Arm

About Ricky Aarons (872 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.