Outright Return with Ferocious Single ‘The Hammer’ + Keep You Warm LP Announcement

Outright 2022

It’s been a hot minute since Melbourne hardcore unit Outright graced us with their presence but they’re making up for lost time with a brand new song and an album announcement – so let’s not waste any more time…

The band’s new album Keep You Warm will be released on Friday, July 15th via Reason and Rage Records and to celebrate the news, they’ve dished up new single ‘The Hammer‘ which is yet another heavy hardcore hitter from the group complete with frontwoman Jelena Goluza‘s fierce delivery and a roaring guitar solo that’s surely going to melt faces when witnessed live again!

Goluza has commented on the single and what inspired it:

“When abusers co-opt the histories of the oppressed to complain about their own rare instances of accountability it insults and minimises literally hundreds of years of survival and resilience by the marginalised. When you’re accustomed to privilege, equality feels like oppression and accountability feels like an attack.

The song title refers to Malleus Maleficarum, ‘The Hammer of Witches’ – a historical text considered the handbook on witchcraft which drove centuries of torture and hysteria to protect the power of the church and its patriarch; We subvert it here to be a hammer of justice for all.

“We have to believe in change. Cancel culture might not be the solution, but you can’t equate visibility and accountability for harm with a witch hunt – the very tool used by these same abusers to murder, exclude and control people who challenge the status quo, show strength and independence or literally just dare to exist”.

I love this band and everything they stand for, so prepare for a hardcore return to form for Outright as they pick up where they left off, only now they’re older, stronger and wiser, with plenty of issues to discuss through their music.

Words by by Paul ‘Browny’ Brown @brownypaul

Stream Outright – ‘The Hammerhere and
Pre-order Keep You Warm here

Outright – Keep You Warm tracklisting

1. Truth Teller
2. The Hammer
3. Linchpin
4. Tied Through Time
5. Fortify
6. Breathless
7. The Call
8. Burn
9. Tyrants & Vultures
10. Silent Spring

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3543 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!