Underoath Gives Another Peep of Voyeurist With ‘Cycle’ featuring Ghostemane


We’re edging closer to the release of Underoath‘s Voyeurist, which is set for release on January 14, 2022 via Fearless Records. Though the band have already unveiled singles ‘Hallelujah‘, ‘Damn Excuses‘ and ‘Pneumonia’– they’re not done yet. Overnight, the band have dropped their latest track ‘Cycle’ featuring Ghostemane, and with this track it’s feeling like Voyeurist is shaping up to set the standard of new albums, very early next year.

On the new single ‘Cycle‘s feature of Ghostemane vocalist Spencer Chamberlain comments:

“When we were writing ‘Cycle’, I knew that I wanted to have a feature on the bridge. I wanted something abstract, and ideally in the hip-hop genre. I heard a cadence that wasn’t natural to our band. Ghostemane came up in convo, and we all loved the idea. I had been listening to him for a minute, and the connection between Underoath / Lil Peep put me on to the south Florida squad like Pouya, Ghostemane and Lil Peep (RIP). We tried to get a hold of him for weeks, And one day Aaron called me and said that Ghostemane randomly Instagramed him to tell him that he appreciated what we do, and Aaron replied back that we were trying to get a hold of him to be on a track on the new album.”

The singer goes on to say:

“The floodgates opened, all the managers and artists started connecting and I sent his manager the song, and a week or so later we got what was stated as  ‘I did a ton and threw the sink at it, let me know your thoughts.’  We listened to the first thing he sent, and just said ‘that is it’. I don’t think any of us knew what we were looking for in the feature, but when I heard the take, lyrics and energy we were like ‘oh shit. This is perfect.”

Cycle‘ sees Underoath dial up the cross-over of clean/unclean vocals, with their signature chaos instrumentation. Ghostemane delivers a blistering verse across the relentless drumming and distorted screams from Spencer Chamberlain. It all boils down to the final thirty-seconds where the mild sense of melody hits a melting pot of breakdown crescendo.

Words by Ricky Aarons (@rickysaul90)

Stream ‘Cycle’ feat. Ghostemane here.
Pre-order Voyeurist here.

Underoath – Voyeurist tracklist

1. Damn Excuses
2. Hallelujah
3. I’m Pretty Sure I’m Out of Luck and Have No Friends
4. Cycle ft. Ghostemane
5. Thorn
6. (No Oasis)
7. Take A Breath
8. We’re All Gonna Die
9. Numb
10. Pneumonia

About Ricky Aarons (868 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.