Fit For A King & August Burns Red Drop Collaboration EP ‘Guardians of the Path’

Fit For A King are no strangers to the collaboration singles and EPs and are obviously having heaps of fun with the concept. The idea is that the band team up with another metalcore band and they cover each other’s hits so we can hear a different flavour – a refreshing way to hear songs you love in between the bands releasing new music.

Back in 2018, Fit For A King did this with We Came As Romans and earlier this year they did it with Silent Planet and it’s been great. Of course vocalist Ryan Kirby is not only gearing up for U.S. touring once again and dropping collab EPs, but he’s also got a new project Our Eternity. Anyway, we digress – today we’re here to tell you that Fit For A King have dropped a collab EP with August Burns Red, called Guardians of the Path (a play on words to both a literary series, and the band’s respective releases) and well, it’s pretty sick. Obviously, August Burns Red have also been a bunch of busy bees having released Guardians in 2020 (our review here), and only weeks ago dropping their ‘Bloodlettervideo.

So here’s how it works. August Burns Red have Kirby on vocals for ‘Defender’ and ‘Provision’, and Fit For A King have Jake Luhrs on ‘God of Fire’ and ‘When Everything Means Nothing’. Got all that? It’s really cool to hear both vocalists’ highly signature voices across each other’s songs. It feels like the biggest sign of respect across peers, and gives fans of both bands something cool to get around. We won’t give away everything, but ‘When Everything Means Nothing’ is particularly special, not to mention how monstrous the track is as an original – Luhrs crushes that breakdown at the very end. Enjoy metalcore-heads.

Words by Ricky Aarons (@rickysaul90)

Check out the exclusive Fit For A King x August Burns Red collab merch here
Suss their EP Guardians of the Path right here.

Fit For A King x August Burns Red - Guardians of the Path

Fit For A King x August Burns Red – Guardians of The Path tracklisting

1. Defender (feat. Ryan Kirby)
2. God of Fire (feat. Jake Luhrs)
3. Provision (feat. Ryan Kirby)
4. When Everything Means Nothing (feat. Jake Luhrs)

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Ricky Aarons (772 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.

2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. August Burns Red Spin New Song ‘Vengeance’ Amidst Huge U.S. Anniversary Tour – Wall Of Sound
  2. Fit For A King Go Cinematic With Reimagined ‘When Everything Means Nothing’ – Wall Of Sound

Comments are closed.