Metallica Set To Release Monster Cover Record of ‘The Black Album’+ Remaster


Happy 30th birthday to The Black Album. There’s a small little band that you might not have heard of yet called Metallica. The band have just made a ridiculously exciting announcement that on September 10th they’ll be releasing The Black Album with a remastered edition of the infamous record, but the real headline here is their concept of The Metallica Blacklist.

The Metallica Blacklist is a reinvention of The Black Album, covered by 53 artists. This is going to be an absolutely massive release to celebrate the almighty album, featuring some of the band’s biggest hits over the years like ‘Enter Sandman’, ‘Sad But True‘, and ‘Nothing Else Matters‘. The way they’ve done it means that there’ll be something for everyone, well you’d hope so at least with 53 artists involved (oh and some of them are some big names). Some of the artists you’ll hear include Ghost, Weezer, Royal Blood, Biffy Clyro, Corey Taylor, The HU and Volbeat – just to name a few. And the best thing is, they’re doing it all for charity. All profits from this mammoth release will be donated to charities of each contributing artist’s choice along with Metallica’s own foundation, All Within My Hands.

To give you a taste of what Metallica have in store for the September release, they’ve revealed their star-studded rendition of ‘Nothing Else Matters‘ by Miley Cyrus featuring watt , Elton John , Yo-Yo Ma , Robert Trujillo, and Chad Smith. We don’t need to tell you how big this is, but give it a listen below to hear how massive it is. What is particularly noteworthy about this track is the presence of Trujillo, who wasn’t with Metallica yet and now gets to be involved in the life-changing record. Cyrus sounds amazing, and whilst there’ll be haters for her involvement, you can’t deny her range and note-hitting ability on the track. With Elton on keys and Red Hot Chili Peppers‘ Chad Smith on the drums, you’re going to lose your absolute mind – it’s great to watch with the video too, enjoy.

If that didn’t do it for you, Columbian musician, song-writer and Latin Grammy Award winner Juanes has covered ‘Enter Sandman’ in a really different way. The coupled video really captures the essence of the song’s lyrics and themes with a spinning bed taking on the darkness of the track.

Metallica have made sure you’ve got a glimpse of this bad-boy as well, along with announcement of the 30th anniversary celebration. Take a look below and see what you think.

Alright, collectors – we haven’t forgotten about you. Let’s talk business. Metallica are releasing a limited edition deluxe numbered box set of The Black Album or to get technical, their self-titled album Metallica (Remastered). Here’s what’s up for grabs: a 180-gram double LP and CD, ‘Sad But True’ picture disc, three live LPs, 14 CDs and six DVDs featuring unreleased content (live shows, rough mixes, demos, etc), MP3 download card of all audio, four tour laminates, lanyard, three lithos, three guitar picks, lyric folder and sheets, and a 120-page hardcover book with never-before-seen photos + stories from those who were there. Frothing for this? So are we.

Metallica Black Album Deluxe Box Set

Feast your eyes on ‘Nothing Else Matters‘ by Miley Cyrus featuring watt , Elton John , Yo-Yo Ma , Robert Trujillo, and Chad Smith hereJuanes’ version of ‘Enter Sandman’ here, and pre-order Metallica‘s Blacklist here

Metallica - The Blacklist

Metallica – The Blacklist track-list

1. Enter Sandman – Alessia Cara & The Warning
2. Enter Sandman – Mac DeMarco
3. Enter Sandman – Ghost
4. Enter Sandman – Juanes
5. Enter Sandman – Rina Sawayama
6. Enter Sandman – Weezer
7. Sad But True (Live) – Sam Fender
8. Sad But True – Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit
9. Sad But True – Mexican Institute of Sound feat. La Perla & Gera MX
10. Sad But True – Royal Blood
11. Sad But True – St. Vincent
12. Sad But True – White Reaper
13. Sad But True – YB
14. Holier Than Thou – Biffy Clyro
15. Holier Than Thou – The Chats
16. Holier Than Thou – OFF!
17. Holier Than Thou – PUP
18. Holier Than Thou – Corey Taylor
19. The Unforgiven – Cage The Elephant
20. The Unforgiven – Vishal Dadlani, DIVINE, Shor Police
21. The Unforgiven – Diet Cig
22. The Unforgiven – Flatbush Zombies feat. DJ Scratch
23. The Unforgiven – Ha*Ash
24. The Unforgiven – José Madero
25. The Unforgiven – Moses Sumney
26. Wherever I May Roam – J Balvin
27. Wherever I May Roam – Chase & Status feat. BackRoad Gee
28. Wherever I May Roam – The Neptunes
29. Wherever I May Roam – Jon Pardi
30. Don’t Tread on Else Matters – SebastiAn
31. Don’t Tread on Me – Portugal. The Man
32. Don’t Tread on Me – Volbeat
33. Through the Never – The HU
34. Through the Never – Tomi Owó
35. Nothing Else Matters – Phoebe Bridgers
36. Nothing Else Matters – Miley Cyrus feat. WATT, Elton John, Yo-Yo Ma, Robert Trujillo, Chad Smith
37. Nothing Else Matters – Dave Gahan
38. Nothing Else Matters – Mickey Guyton
39. Nothing Else Matters – Dermot Kennedy
40. Nothing Else Matters – Mon Laferte
41. Nothing Else Matters – Igor Levit
42. Nothing Else Matters – My Morning Jacket
43. Nothing Else Matters – PG Roxette
44. Nothing Else Matters – Darius Rucker
45. Nothing Else Matters – Chris Stapleton
46. Nothing Else Matters – TRESOR
47. Of Wolf and Man – Goodnight, Texas
48. The God That Failed – IDLES
49. The God That Failed – Imelda May
50. My Friend of Misery – Cherry Glazerr
51. My Friend of Misery – Izïa
52. My Friend of Misery – Kamasi Washington
53. The Struggle Within – Rodrigo y Gabriela

See the full list below of the charities that each of the contributing artists have selected for their respective songs:

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Ricky Aarons (769 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.

2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Biffy Clyro Cover ‘Holier Than Thou’ for The Metallica Blacklist – Wall Of Sound
  2. Metallica – A Blackening Retrospective Game Changer – Wall Of Sound

Comments are closed.