Sum 41 Drop Heart-Breaking Ballad ‘Never There’

Like every great band promoting a new album does, Sum 41 have released a slower, balladesque track for their third single from their forthcoming album Order In Decline (out July 19th) and this one is all about frontman Deryck Whibley’s father, who left him and his mother at a young age.

Turns out, this deeply emotional song was hard for him to write:

“I never wanted to write this song, it just kind of poured out of me. I tried to fight it at first but there was no stopping it. I could tell I was writing about my dad, who I’ve never met. It’s a subject that I don’t really think about or care about. It’s never really bothered me to be honest. It never bothered me because my mum was so great, and I have such a great relationship with her. She was/is so strong as a single mother for my whole life that I never needed to think about my dad. This turned out to be a very personal song for me, and I hope you enjoy it.”

A shout out to all the single parents out there doing it tough, you’re doing a great job and probably don’t get to hear that often. Be proud of your achievements and the kids your raising, especially if you’re playing them bands like this while they grow up.

Order In decline is out July 19th via Hopeless Records
Pre-order here

sum 41 - order in decline

Sum 41 – Order In Decline tracklisting

1. Turning Away
2. Out For Blood
3. The New Sensation
4. A Death In The Family
5. Heads Will Roll
6. 45 (A Matter Of Time)
7. Never There
8. Eat You Alive
9. The People Vs…
10. Catching Fire

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3543 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!