PVRIS – All We Know of Heaven, All We Need of Hell

PVRIS – All We Know of Heaven, All We Need of Hell
Released: August 25th, 2017

PVRIS are:

Lynn Gunn | vocals
Alex Babinski | guitar
Brian MacDonald | bass

PVRIS online:

It’s been a few years since we’ve seen an album from PVRIS, but the hype for their upcoming release has certainly been building for quite some time, having them beginning to tease us since April. With the success of White Noise, it was no surprise when fans started to freak out at the teasing and announcement of their follow up record, All We Know of Heaven, All We Need of Hell.


I will admit that I have been looking forward to this album myself, and when I began to listen to the tracks that were put forward on this release, I wasn’t too surprised to hear the familiar sounds and vibes that were given off as it is definitely one that you’d expect to hear from the trio but it is also quite different to White Noise in the sense that you can hear the changes in the production. It is without a doubt that PVRIS are one of the more standout bands when it comes to female vocalists, with Lynn Gunn having such a strong, edgy voice that could be recognised anywhere and the talents of both Brian MacDonald and Alex Babinski to back those powerful pipes, creating sounds that set the scene for each song.

Upon my first listen, I was intrigued by what I was hearing, finding the songs to be more loud and almost forceful as opposed to anything else I’d heard from them before, which was interesting to hear such a change of pace, as their last record had much softer sounds that supported the strong vocals of Gunn, with the choruses normally holding the hard hitting beats. I found that throughout the differing tunes, the bands progression became quite noticeable, having it translate into this record with a more open, almost echo-like sound being created,  which adds another element of depth to every track. Something that is unexpected when listening to any bands album, but if anybody were to achieve the feeling of being in a large and empty room with just the band performing in front of you, PVRIS certainly hit the nail on the head.


All We Know of Heaven, All We Need of Hell has some absolutely standout tunes that had me playing them over and over with how catchy they are. Every song has a different vibe to it, some darker than others, but fitting in perfectly with the flow of the album but for myself, the ones that stand out most would have to be ‘Half‘, ‘Winter and ‘No Mercy. They all possess such powerful lyrics and are tracks that I would consider as the more danceable from the album which I personally find quite enjoyable. For anyone who has never listened to PVRIS before, or for the fans who have been waiting since the White Noise era, I think this is an album that will not disappoint at all. It’s definitely been quite a hard task when it came to reviewing this release as not one single song is similar to the next and there is such a variation and versatility to it, that it became practically indescribable.

PVRIS have once again delivered something that shows everyone why they are so very different from any other band out there today.

pvris album

PVRIS – All We Know of Heaven, All We Need of Hell Track List:

  1. Heaven
  2. Half
  3. Anyone Else
  4. What’s Wrong
  5. Walk Alone
  6. Same Soul
  7. Winter
  8. No Mercy
  9. Separate
  10. Nola

Rating: 8/10
All We Know of Heaven, All We Need of Hell
is out August 25th via Warner Music Australia. Pre-Order your copy today right here
Review By: Heather McNab

Revisit our interview with PVRIS frontwoman Lynn Gunn here


Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Competition: Win PVRIS’ new album ‘All We Know Of Heaven, All We Need Of Hell’ – Wall Of Sound
  2. PVRIS – Photo Gallery 15th June @ Metro Theatre, Sydney NSW – Wall Of Sound

Comments are closed.