The Amity Affliction Unveil 8th LP Not Without My Ghosts + Serve New Track ‘It’s Hell Down Here’

The Amity Affliction Not Without My Ghosts new album

The news we have all been waiting for has finally arrived – The Amity Affliction are set to release their heaviest album to date!

Not Without My Ghosts will drop via Pure Noise Records on May 12, and so far, we have been gifted with tracks that blur the lines between their signature melodic metalcore sound and their newfound approach to gnarlier material that wouldn’t be too far astray from the deathcore genre. The announcement comes with brand new single ‘It’s Hell Down Here‘ which you can stream right now and showcases an ideal mix of their heavy and melodic roots.

Having already released singles ‘Show Me Your God‘ and ‘I See Dead People‘, the new record from Amity is set to be the band’s heaviest to date – something that has not only been tantalising fan reactions, but has been serving as a nod to the long term fans who have been following the band’s extensive career since their Severed Ties and Youngbloods eras.

Both those albums were staples in Australia’s late-2000s metalcore scene, and both featured a stack of guest collaborators on various songs (such as Michael Crafter, Lochlan Watt, Matthew Wright, JJ Peters and Helmet Roberts to name a few), something this new outing also has with Andrew Neufeld of Comeback Kid, Landon Tewers of The Plot in You, alt-pop musician phem and the posthumous feature from New Zealand rapper Louie Knuxx on already released single ‘I See Dead People‘.

On new track ‘It’s Hell Down Here‘, Joel Birch comments:

“This song is a a letter from myself and Ahren, written by me, to our friends who have passed on to the other side.”

“I’m 41. I’m bipolar. And I’m pretty tired of it. That’s where lyrics like ‘Like a snake I tire / the cold dark clouds, they steal my light’ come from. The song is wrapping up how I feel daily, and reflecting on the time leading up to my friend killing himself. I’m sure a lot of people who have experienced that guilt at not seeing what becomes glaringly obvious after the fact.”

On top of today’s news, the band also shared their plans to hit the stage across Australia in October, with Silverstein, Earth Caller and Winnerz Circle joining them for the ride – Tickets Here.

Words by Paul ‘Browny’ Brown @brownypaul

Stream ‘It’s Hell Down Herehere

Pre-order/save Not Without My Ghosts here

The Amity Affliction – Not Without My Ghosts tracklisting

1. Show Me Your God
2. It’s Hell Down Here
3. Fade Away
4. Death and the Setting Sun (feat. Andrew Neufeld of Comeback Kid)
5. I See Dead People (feat. Louie Knuxx)
6. When It Rains It Pours (feat. Landon Tewers of The Plot in You)
7. The Big Sleep
8. Close To Me
9. God Voice
10. Not Without My Ghosts (feat. phem)

About Paul 'Browny' Brown (3695 Articles)
Dad, Wall of Sound Boss Man/Editorial Manager, Moshpit Enthusiast & Professional Beard Grower!