DevilDriver Pound Back Into Action with ‘Through the Depths’ & Announce Dealing With Demons II

DevilDriver 2023

DevilDriver are one of the most consistent metal bands on the rotation. The Californian veterans have released nine studio albums and we reckon the big number ten is on the way. Dez Fafara and the boys unloaded their Dealing with Demons record in 2020, and today they’re sharing news on their next chapter but more to come on that in a minute.

Two and a half years later and new single ‘Through the Depths‘ has emerged with DevilDriver sounding hotter than ever. After an extended easing acoustic intro, the groove metalers burst into gear with buzzing riffs and Fafara’s gargling vocals. The track consistently expands with the twenty-one year old band bringing a fresh take on an old-but-still-ripe recipe, leaving you banging you head with approval.

On the new single, Fafara comments:

“‘Through the Depths’ is a conversation between a higher power and humans regarding the power of thinking ideas into existence, but being very careful of being arrogant behind those wants and needs.

The first lines give this away: “Attention attention, you’re seeking, you’ve asked for, it’s given” (the higher power says). 

Then the lines of the chorus are that same higher power speaking to humans, saying: ‘through the depths to the ascension, nothing you wouldn’t do for my attention, held to the fire it’s not my crime, you’ve pinned it on me for the last time.’ Meaning – don’t blame the Gods (pin it on them) for your fuck ups. Meaning – put it out there and take steps to attain goals and take accountability.

This track is the essence of Dealing With Demons Vol. II, and the conversations within the record get way deeper than even this. Enjoy.”

With the new single, DevilDriver have announced tenth studio album Dealing with Demons II, out May 12, 2023 via Napalm Records. Check out the tracklisting below and get pre-ordering.

Words by Ricky Aarons (@rickysaul90)

Stream ‘Through the Depths‘ here

Pre-Order/Save Dealing With Demons II here

DevilDriver Dealing With Demons II

DevilDriverDealing With Demons II tracklisting

1. I Have no Pity
2. Mantra
3. Nothing Lasts Forever
4. Summoning
5. Through the Depths
6. Bloodbath
7. It’s a Hard Truth
8. If Blood is Life
9. This Relationship, Broken

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Ricky Aarons (771 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.