Frozen Soul Unleashes ‘Morbid Effigy’, Announces New Album Co-Produced By Trivium’s Matt Heafy

One of the hottest (or should it be, coldest?) bands of the recent old-school death metal renaissance, Dallas, Texas’ five-piece Frozen Soul are back with a flattening new tune and all the juicy details of their forthcoming sophomore record, Glacial Domination.

Co-produced by Trivium‘s Matt Heafy, the Texan’s second full length – dropping May 19th -promises to build upon their nasty, yet instantly headbang-able, debut Crypt of Ice. Backed by juggernauts Century Media Records, 2023 could easily be the year that the quartet smash through the glass ceiling.

Though hardened extreme metal fans may have raised an eyebrow with the addition of Heafy to the production team, Glacial Domination’s first taster ‘Morbid Effigy’ effortlessly shows any doubters that the Trivium frontman is wise enough to not mess with a good thing.

The 80s horror movie-inspired intro gives way to ultra thick riffs, with waves of neck-whipping grooves pushing the tune along at a pit-friendly pace. Fans of the brutal stuff get a bonus treat with the addition of punishing guest vocals of Dying Fetus founding member John Gallagher during the slamming bridge. If ‘Morbid Effigy’ is anything to go by, Frozen Soul may be about to unleash the death metal album of the year with Glacial Domination.

Words by Andrew Kapper

Pre-order Glacial Domination here

Frozen SoulGlacial Domination tracklisting

1. Invisible Tormentor
2. Arsenal Of War
3. Death And Glory
4. Morbid Effigy (feat. John Gallagher)
5. Annihilation
6. Glacial Domination (feat. Matt Heafy)
7. Frozen Soul (feat. GosT)
8. Assimilator (feat. GosT)
9. Best Served Cold
10. Abominable (feat. Matt Heafy)
11. Atomic Winter

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!