August Burns Red Announce Album #10 & Introduce ‘Ancestry’ with Jesse Leach

August Burns Red Ancestry

Did you think the big metalcore announcements for the year were over? Think again. Stalwarts August Burns Red just announced their tenth studio album Death Below, out 24 March, 2023 via SharpTone Records

The record follows up their 2020 record Guardians, not to mention standalone singles like ‘Vengeance‘ and of course their regular holiday tunes/covers. The Pennsylvanian group have been super busy touring and there’s no sign of slowing down in 2023. The forthcoming record is packed with awesome features, including ex-Chelsea Grin/Born of Osiris guitarist Jason Richardson, ERRA‘s JT Cavey and Underoath‘s Spencer Chamberlain.

There is one more feature, and you get to hear it today. Death Below‘s lead-single is called ‘Ancestry’ and features no other than Killswitch Engage‘s Jesse Leach. Kicking off with all ABR’s classic and signature style, vocalist Jake Luhrs reminds us how much we’ve missed him and the band. Leach slips into the track early on and so seamlessly without it feeling like a separate verse feature. As the track develops, the two frontmen alternate on vocals, setting up the 2023 release for massive success.

Commenting on the forthcoming record, lead guitarist John Benjamin “JB” Brubake says:

“It’s no secret that the past few years have been extremely dark and challenging. “Death Below is here as a result of that time in each our lives and the emotions that came with it. We were motivated by uncertainty, fear, outrage, and triumph. I feel this is the darkest, most personal album we’ve ever written, and I couldn’t be more proud of what the five of us made together.”

On the new single, Brubake continues:

“‘Ancestry’ is a complex and technical ABR track held together by perhaps the most painful and personal lyrics Jake has ever written. I loved this song in every phase since its inception. From the instrumental rendition, to the lyrics and vocals being added, to finally bringing it all together with Jesse’s anthemic guest vocals, ‘Ancestry’ is a song we’ve been looking forward to sharing with the world for a long time.”

Words by Ricky Aarons (@rickysaul90)

Stream ‘Ancestry’ feat. Jesse Leach here

Pre-save Death Below here

August Burns Red Death Below

August Burns RedDeath Below tracklisting

1. Premonition
2. The Cleansing
3. Ancestry feat. Jesse Leach
4. Tightrope feat. Jason Richardson
5. Fool’s Gold in the Bear Trap
6. Backfire
7. Revival
8. Sevink
9. Dark Divide
10. Deadbolt
11. The Abyss feat. JT Cavey
12. Reckoning feat. Spencer Chamberlain

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Ricky Aarons (695 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.