Disturbed Gear Up Harder with ‘Unstoppable’ Single & Announce New Record Divisive

Disturbed 2022

Back in July we received a huge returned from Disturbed who finally released new single ‘Hey You‘ after quite the hiatus. With five years since return album Evolution, fans have been salivating at the thought of more new music, but it’s taken more time than we anticipated.

Disturbed have captivated the attention of rock and metal fans for decades, and they just celebrated twenty years of sophomore record Believe. Having tested more melodic moves on their past few albums, their reception has become a bit more mixed, however it seems like something is changing in the Disturbed camp. ‘Hey You‘ shocked fans with the four piece’s unearthing of their heavier style, inciting excitement as to what else is on the horizon.

Today David Draiman and the boys have dropped a second new one called ‘Unstoppable‘, and the TLDR is that does continue down the heavy path – but please do read on, you might regret it if you don’t. If you look at the single album art below, instead of having the track title, it has Divisive instead, suggesting we might just be getting an album announcement a little later on.

Alright, let’s take a proper look at ‘Unstoppable’. The four-minute song kicks in with some decent pace and Draiman continues on from ‘Hey You‘ with gruffer Indestructible vocals which sets an impressive standard. The drums similarly reflect the 2008 era with a certain mixing style that is incredibly nostalgic. Disturbed retain this energy throughout, even in the slightly more melodic chorus, remaining decently heavy.

Update: Disturbed have announced upcoming album Divisive, out November 18 via Warner Music. The record will feature both singles, with full tracklisting below.

On the new record, Draiman comments:

“Partisan tribal warfare has become a part of our regular existence nowadays. It’s one big battle of the cliques. The whole idea of the record is to be a wakeup call for everyone. Our society has become addicted to outrage. Music is the best cure for what ails us though. If only everyone reached out and used it. There’s no better environment to forget about all of this shit than live music. We can be together and realize we have more in common than not. Recognize what’s happening and let’s make a change for the better.”

Words by Ricky Aarons (@rickysaul90)

Stream Disturbed – ‘Unstoppable‘ here

Pre-order Divisive here

Disturbed Divisive

Disturbed – Divisive tracklisting

1. Hey You
2. Bad Man
3. Divisive
4. Unstoppable
5. Love to Hate
6. Feeding the Fire
7. Don’t Tell Me (featuring Ann Wilson)
8. Take Back Your Life
9. Part of Me
10. Won’t Back Down

About Ricky Aarons (864 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.