Oceans Ate Alaska Pump Out ‘Nova’ & Announce Disparity Record

Oceans Ate Alaska Nova

The return of Oceans Ate Alaska might just be one of the most exciting things to happen in metalcore this year. After their 2020 release of ‘Metamorph‘ there was quite a period until we got a taste of new music from the boys. All of a sudden, the five-piece dropped quick and punchy track ‘New Dawn‘ that tore us apart with how stupidly heavy it was.

We’re feeling the energy from OAA and another new single has emerged today called ‘Nova‘. The stream of singles come off the back of the band’s most recent full-length Hikari from 2017 as well as standalone song ‘Shape of my Heart‘ from 2018.

Anyway, let’s jump into ‘Nova‘. The track brings back OAA’s prog-metalcore style with some menacing vocals delivered. With a crunchy take on Volumes instrumentally, the band deliver their own unique effort and craft, particularly with the clean-vocal inclusion. The single is fresh and immensely balancing to have Oceans Ate Alaska truly back.

On the new single, the band comments:

“In an overcrowded and oppressive modern society, it is all too easy to fall under pressure; collapse inwardly until self destruct. ‘Nova’ develops on the aggressive themes that were smashed into the metal world as of recent with ‘New Dawn.’ Doubling down on chaotic rhythm’s, overlapping dissonance and vocal hooks that will get your fist pumping in the air. Nova mirrors the inner human disparity, and has you banging your f***ing head to it.”

Update: Oceans Ate Alaska have announced third studio album Disparity, out September 1 via Fearless Records. The record will feature all three singles plus a track with a guest feature from I Prevail‘s Eric Vanlerberghe; timely with their True Power LP drop today.

Words by Ricky Aarons (@rickysaul90)

Stream ‘Nova‘ here

Pre-Save Disparity here

OAA Nova

Oceans Ate AlaskaDisparity tracklisting

1. Paradigm
2. Nova
3. Metamorph
4. Shallow Grave
5. Sol
6. Dead Behind The Eyes (feat. Eric Vanlerberghe of I Prevail)
7. Plague Speech
8. Disparity (Interlude)
9. Emtpy Space
10. New Dawn
11. Hallucinogen

Chip in a buck or two for the WoS crew!

Want to help Wall of Sound grow and deliver more killer content? Support us by chipping in as little as a dollar to help!


About Ricky Aarons (652 Articles)
Co-editor at Wall of Sound and self-acclaimed deathcore connoisseur. My purpose is to expose you to the best emerging breakdowns and gutturals that this planet has to offer.